Current membership


In its resolution 43/222, the General Assembly decided that the Committee on Conferences would be composed of 21 members to be appointed by the President of the General Assembly, after consultations with the chairs of the regional groups, for a period of three years, on the basis of the following geographical distribution:

  • Six members from African States
  • Five members from Asian States
  • Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States
  • Two members from Eastern European States
  • Four members from Western European and other States


One third of the Committee’s membership retires annually and retiring members are eligible for reappointment.


Current members of the Committee on Conferences (2021 - 2023)

African Group 2021 2022 2023
Algeria   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  
Comoros (the)   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  
Ghana check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    
Kenya     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png
Nigeria     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png
Senegal check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    


Asia-Pacific Group 2021 2022 2023
China   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  
Iran (Islamic Republic of) check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    
Japan   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  
Malaysia     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png
Sri Lanka     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png


Latin American and Caribbean Group 2021 2022 2023
Ecuador check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    
Guyana check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    
Jamaica   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  


Eastern European Group 2021 2022 2023
Russian Federation (the)     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png
Ukraine check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    


Western European and Others Group 2021 2022 2023
Austria   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  
France     check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png
Germany check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png    
United States of America (the)   check-circle-solid_20px_blueun.png  



One Stop Shop
Calendar of Conferences
UN Journal
GA res
GA Resolutions