On 17 June 2020, H.E. Mr. Volkan Bozkir (of Turkey) was elected President of the 75th session of the General Assembly. The session will open on 15 September 2020. Watch the announcement | Read the President-elect vision statement (.pdf)

Wide view of the General Assembly Hall. UN Photo/Manuel Elias

About the General Assembly

All 193 Member States of the Organization are represented in the General Assembly - one of the six main organs of the UN - to discuss and work together on a wide array of international issues covered by the Charter of the United Nations, such as development, peace and security, international law, etc.

Every year in September, all the Members meet in this unique forum at Headquarters in New York for the General Assembly session.

Sitting arrangements in the General Assembly Hall change for each session. During the 74th Session (2019-2020), Ghana occupies the first seat in the Hall, including in the Main Committees (followed by all the other countries, in English alphabetical order).



Quick Links

Key Documents