笔译、编辑和逐字记录员考试

笔译、编辑、简要记录和逐字记录员通过同一次竞争性考试征聘。考生必须用其主要语文参加考试。

考生应至少有大学或同等机构学位。许多联合国语文专业人员还有经认证的翻译院校的学位。考生一般要能够将至少两种其他正式语文翻译成自己的主要语文

 

考试介绍

考试分三个部分,全部远程进行。三个部分一般包括:

  • 第一部分:两到三份翻译试卷,有时还有一份编辑和(或)简要记录试卷
  • 第二部分:两份翻译试卷
  • 第三部分:考试小组面试,考胜任能力,可能还有其他
     

第一部分,考生可以使用网上资源及其他资源,但不得咨询或求助他人。

第二部分远程监控的考试要求考生不用词典、词汇表或任何其他资源完成翻译。

只有通过第一部分考试的考生才被邀请参加第二部分考试;只有通过第二部分考试的考生才被邀请参加第三部分考试。

通过考试的考生将列入名册,待日后纽约、日内瓦、维也纳、内罗毕以及各区域委员会出现空缺时聘用。

 

申请说明

语文专业人员的竞争性考试平均两三年以各种正式语文举行一次。考试通知连同资格要求和申请信息于考前几个月在联合国职业门户网站发布。考生应阅读考试通知,因为考试的资格要求和申请说明可能有变。

 

如何准备

考试之前

联合国语文工作者处理的文件涵盖联合国议程上的广泛议题,因此求知欲强和知识面广十分重要。所以建议考生了解政治、社会、文化和其他方面的国际时事。翻译和简要记录员还必须具备批判性思维能力,以胜任职责。

良好的写作技巧会在考试中发挥作用。广泛阅读能加强相关领域的实质性知识,扩大词汇量,改进写作风格,具备对译入语和译出语结构和表达的语感,从而提高写作技能。

准备考试时,可以比较不同语文的不同媒体对相同事件的报道。仔细阅读联合国新闻报道,访问联合国多媒体网站,阅读、收看、收听最近的新闻和档案材料。也可以访问联合国正式文件系统,对同一份文件的不同语文版本进行比较,熟悉联合国文件的风格、文体和术语。

练习

一个很好的练习方法是,将联合国正式文件从您的源语文翻译成您的主要语文,再将您的译文与正式文件系统上的文件进行比较。请注意,联合国主要网站上载有关于联合国结构和工作的丰富信息,但不是联合国秘书处专业笔译翻译的,因此不如正式文件可靠。

记住,决定翻译质量的因素是准确(没有误译、遗漏、不必要的增添或严重偏离重点)、风格(风格清晰地道,文体恰当,术语、语法、拼写、标点正确)以及前后一致(相同的术语应一以贯之)。一般来说,译文的格式也应符合原文。编辑或翻译前,应通读全文,以便更好地理解上下文。同样重要的是,交卷前应将译文最后通读一遍,以确保译文流畅。

如果报名参加的考试包括简要记录,可用联合国eStatements网站上的发言做简要记录练习,还可以在纪要撰写的页面找到有用资料。记住不要遗漏任何要点,并要抓住原文的语气和风格。此外请务必使用第三人称,并确保简要记录的长度是原文的三分之一左右。

考生通常会在考前数周收到试考卷子。收到试考卷后,请务必熟悉在线考试平台,并仔细阅读取卷和交卷的说明和提示。

通过前两部分考试的考生将被邀请参加胜任能力面试。那是考试的一部分。准备面试的诀窍可在联合国职业门户网站上查阅。
 

时间管理

一收到考试详情,请细心注意每个考题的规定时间,以便能够按考试要求的速度练习翻译或编辑。

设法给每次练习设定时间,并照此掌握速度。您应该具备在压力下工作的能力。

 

首次考试失利

如果首次考试失利,请不要气馁。您可能发挥了自己的水平,但考试竞争激烈,其他考生这次可能略胜一筹。考试每几年举行一次,希望能继续学习,练习和磨练技巧,下次再试。

关于今后考试的信息和语言专业人员工作的信息定期在联合国职业门户网站FacebookTwitterLinkedIn等社交媒体发布。所有视频都可以通过大会部的YouTube频道收看。

Exams for translators, editors and verbatim reporters

A translator of the Documentation Division at work. UNHQ/DGACM

Translators, editors, précis-writers, and verbatim reporters are recruited through a single competitive examination. Candidates must take the examination in their main language.

At least a first-level degree from a university or institution of equivalent status is required. Many United Nations language professionals also have a degree from an accredited school of translation. The ability to translate into your main language from at least two of the other official languages is usually required.

 

What to expect?

The whole examination is conducted remotely and consists of three parts. These usually comprise:

  • Part 1:  two or three translation exercises and, in some cases, an editing and/or summary-writing exercise
  • Part 2:  two translation exercises
  • Part 3:  a competency-based panel interview, and possibly another exercise
     

In Part 1, candidates may use online and other available resources, but may not consult or obtain help from other persons.
In Part 2, which is a remotely proctored test, candidates may be required to translate without using dictionaries, glossaries or any other resources. 

Only candidates who are successful in Part 1 are invited to Part 2; and only those who are successful in Part 2 are invited to Part 3.

Successful candidates are placed on a roster for subsequent recruitment as vacancies become available in New York, Geneva, Vienna and Nairobi and the regional commissions.

 

How to apply?

Competitive examinations for language professionals are held, on average, once every two or three years in each official language. The examination announcements are posted on the United Nations Careers portal a few months prior to the date of the examination, together with information on eligibility requirements and how to apply. Applicants should check examination notices as eligibility requirements and instructions on how to apply may vary.

 

Tips for preparation

Before getting started

Broad intellectual curiosity and general knowledge are very important for United Nations linguists, who work with documents covering a wide-range of topics on the United Nations agenda. It is therefore that you stay informed with regard to political, social, cultural and other developments worldwide. Translators and précis-writers must also be able to think critically in order to perform their functions successfully.

Having good writing skills will make a difference in the examination. Reading extensively will support your writing skills by strengthening your substantive knowledge in relevant fields, broadening your vocabulary, refining your style and giving you a feel for the structures and expressions used in the languages from and into which you work.

To prepare for the exam, compare coverage of the same events by various media outlets in different languages. Peruse the United Nations’ news sources and visit the Organization’s multimedia site to read, watch and listen to the latest news and archival materials. You can also familiarize yourself with the style, register and terminology used in United Nations documents by visiting the United Nations Official Document System (ODS) and comparing different language versions of the same document.

Practise

An excellent way to practise is by translating an official United Nations document from your source language(s) into your main language and then comparing your version with the document posted on ODS. Please note that the main United Nations website, which contains a wealth of information on the structure and work of the Organization, is not translated by professional translators of the United Nations Secretariat and is therefore less reliable than official documents.

Remember that the factors that determine the quality of a translation are accuracy (no mistranslations, omissions, unnecessary additions or serious shifts of emphasis), style (clear, idiomatic style; proper register; correct terminology, grammar, spelling and punctuation) and consistency (identical terms should be rendered the same way throughout). Generally speaking, the format of the translation should also conform to the format of the original text. Before you begin editing or translating, it is advisable to read through the text in order to better understand the context. Just as important is the need to read through your text text one final time before submitting it to ensure that it flows smoothly.

If the examination that you have applied for includes a summary-writing exercise, practise summarizing speeches that you find posted on the United Nations eStatements. You will also find useful materials in the resources section of the précis-writing page. Remember to include all the main points and capture the tone and style of the original text. Also make sure that you use reported speech and that your summary is approximately one third the length of the original text.

Candidates usually receive a trial version of the examination a few weeks before the actual examination date. When you receive the trial version, make sure to familiarize yourself with the online examination platform and to read very carefully the instructions and tips about accessing exercises and submitting responses.

Candidates who pass the first two parts are invited to a competency-based interview, which is an integral part of the examination. Tips on preparing for such interviews are available on the United Nations Careers website.

Time management

As soon as you receive the details of the examinations, take careful note of the time allocated for each exervise, so you can practises translating or editing at the speed required in the examination.

Try to set a time limit for each practice session and pace yourself accordingly. You should be able to work under pressure. 

What if your first attempt is unsuccessful?

Don't be discouraged if you do not succeed on your first attempt. You may have performed well, but the examination is extremely competitive and other candidates may simply have performed better that year. Examinations are held every few years. Continue to study, practise and hone your craft and try again the next time around.

Information about upcoming exams and the work of language professionals is regularly posted on the United Nations Careers portal and social media such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. All videos are accessible through the Department's YouTube channel.