纪要撰写

联合国纽约总部及日内瓦和维也纳各办事处的部分翻译人员(其主要语言为英文或法文的翻译)在日常工作中还负责撰写纪要,即起草会议的简要记录。他们为享有简要记录待遇的联合国政府间机构(包括大会各主要委员会、安全理事会各委员会、经济及社会理事会、人权条约机构、建设和平委员会、非殖民化特别委员会、国际法委员会和联合国国际贸易法委员会)编写会议正式记录。

 

简要记录

与逐字记录一样,简要记录是联合国机构记忆的一部分。但简要记录不是对会议过程的逐字记录,而是对会议的总结分析。简要记录用于载述会议的发言代表、发言内容和会议的决定。简要记录不仅构成会议的正式记录,还被用作政府间讨论、汇编报告和就所涉主题进行研究的依据,有时在专家或法官的决定中被引述。简要记录的原件(英文或法文)被译成部分或所有其他联合国正式语文(阿拉伯文、中文、俄文和西班牙文)。

 

纪要撰写员的工作

纪要撰写员负责总结代表发言,参考书面和口头发言、录音/录像以及联合国正式文件和数字资料等其他资料。纪要撰写员集翻译、起草、总结和事实核对技能于一身,编写与会者和非与会者都能看懂的会议记录,同时在准确性和行文风格方面保持高标准。纪要撰写员凭借自己的判断力和对主题的了解,决定哪些内容应予以浓缩、扩展、省略或解释,此外还要插入必要的参考资料,对照有关机构的文件和所有可用数据库核对事实和细节

 

工作方法

根据规定的会议程序模式,纪要撰写员在处理程序和决策事项(包括投票表决)时,采用标准说法。纪要撰写员必须全面了解政府间机构会议讨论的所有议题的最新情况,而这往往需要对不同领域进行广泛研究。纪要撰写员的工作就是以书面形式对一次会议所有发言、讨论和结果作出永久的历史记录。纪要撰写员必须谨慎保持前后各次会议以及同一主题系列会议的连续性。纪要撰写员是否必须本人前去会场,取决于会议的内容和复杂性以及同时举行的会议场数。

 

技能要求

翻译/纪要撰写员需通晓至少三种正式语文并拥有各自主要语言的出色写作能力,还应了解联合国审议的一系列广泛主题,包括政治、社会、经济、裁军、反恐、法律、人道主义、维和、金融和行政、科学和技术等领域的主题。

 

参考资料

简要记录同联合国其他正式文件一样,采用文件编号。简要记录文号的末尾包含字母“SR”和一个表示按时间先后排列的会议序号(有时是连续的,有时按届会分开)。除非公开会议外,所有简要记录均可通过正式文件系统和联合国网页上的超链接查阅。

Précis-writing

Précis-writing, or the drafting of summary records of meetings, is a regular and integral part of the job of some United Nations translators (mainly the translators whose main language is English or French) at the United Nations Offices at New York, Geneva and Vienna. They draft official records of meetings of United Nations intergovernmental bodies entitled to receive such records, including the Main Committees of the General Assembly, Security Council committees, the Economic and Social Council, human rights treaty bodies, the Peacebuilding Commission, the Special Committee on Decolonization, the International Law Commission and the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.

 

Summary records

Summary records, like verbatim records, are part of the institutional memory of the United Nations. Unlike verbatim records, they are not word-for-word accounts of the proceedings of a meeting, but rather the product of a summarized analysis of a meeting. They are meant to indicate who spoke at the meeting, what was said and what was decided. Apart from constituting the official record of the meeting, they are used as a basis for intergovernmental discussion, for compiling reports and conducting research on the subjects covered, and sometimes in the decisions of experts or judges. Each original summary record (in English or French) is translated into some or all of the other official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, Russian and Spanish).

 

Role of précis-writers

Précis-writers summarize speeches delivered by delegates, using for reference written and oral statements, audio/video recordings and other material such as official United Nations documents and digital presentations. Combining the skills of translation, drafting, summarizing and fact-checking, précis-writers produce an account of a meeting that can be understood equally well by a reader who was present at the meeting and a reader who was not, maintaining high standards of accuracy and writing style. They use their judgment and their knowledge of the subject matter to determine what should be condensed, expanded, omitted or explained. They insert necessary references, and check facts and details against the documentation of the body concerned and all available databases.

 

Working methods

In accordance with prescribed models for parliamentary procedures, précis-writers employ standardized formulas when dealing with procedural and decision-making matters, including the conduct of voting. They must be thoroughly up to date on all issues discussed in meetings of intergovernmental bodies, which often requires extensive research in different areas. Their work represents the permanent, historical record – in written form – of all statements, discussions and outcomes of a meeting. They must be careful to maintain continuity from one meeting to the next, and within a series of meetings on the same subject. The content and complexity of meetings, and the number of meetings occurring simultaneously, determine whether précis-writers attend in person.

 

Skills required

In addition to excellent language skills in at least three official languages, and excellent writing style in their main language, translators/précis-writers are expected to have knowledge of a broad range of subjects dealt with by the United Nations, that is to say, in the political, social, economic, disarmament, counter-terrorism, legal, humanitarian, peacekeeping, financial and administrative, scientific and technical fields.

 

Resources

Like other official documents of the United Nations, summary records are identified by a document symbol. In the case of summary records, the end of the symbol will contain the letters “SR” and a number denoting the order of the meeting within a chronology (in some cases continuous, and in other cases divided by session). All summary records, except those covering closed meetings, are available on the Official Document System and hyperlinked on United Nations web pages.