تدوين المحاضر الموجزة

 
تدوين المحاضر الموجزة، أو كتابة محاضر موجزة لوقائع الجلسات، جزء لا يتجزأ من عمل بعض المترجمين التحريريين بالأمم المتحدة (ولا سيما المترجمون التحريريون الذين يعملون بالإنكليزية أو الفرنسية كلغة رئيسية) يؤدونه بانتظام في مكاتب الأمم المتحدة بنيويورك وجنيف وفيينا. وهم يقومون بكتابة المحاضر الرسمية لجلسات الهيئات الحكومية الدولية التابعة للأمم المتحدة التي يحق لها تلقي هذه المحاضر (بما في ذلك اللجان الرئيسية للجمعية العامة، ولجان مجلس الأمن، والمجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي، وهيئات معاهدات حقوق الإنسان، ولجنة بناء السلام، واللجنة الخاصة المعنية بإنهاء الاستعمار، ولجنة القانون الدولي، ولجنة الأمم المتحدة للقانون التجاري الدولي).

 

المحاضر الموجزة

المحاضر الموجزة جزء من الذاكرة المؤسسية للأمم المتحدة، شأنها في ذلك شأن المحاضر الحرفية. ولكنها تختلف عن المحاضر الحرفية في أنها ليست سردا حرفيا لوقائع الجلسات، بل هي نتاج تحليل موجز للجلسات. والمراد منها هو تبيان مَن تكلّم خلال الجلسة وما قيل فيها وما تقرر. والمحاضر الموجزة، إلى جانب كونها السجل الرسمي للجلسة، تُستخدم كأساس للمناقشات التي تجري على المستوى الحكومي الدولي، ولتجميع التقارير وإجراء البحوث فيما يتعلق بالمواضيع التي تتناولها، كما يُستعان بها في بعض الأحيان فيما يصدر عن الخبراء أو القضاة من قرارات. ويُترجَم كل محضر موجز أصلي (معدّ بإحدى اللغتين الإنكليزية أو الفرنسية) إلى بعض اللغات الرسمية الأخرى للأمم المتحدة (الإسبانية والروسية والصينية والعربية) أو جميعها.

 

دور مدوّني المحاضر الموجزة

يلخص مدوّنو المحاضر الموجزة الكلماتِ التي يلقيها المندوبون، مستعينين في ذلك بالبيانات الخطية والشفوية والتسجيلات السمعية/البصرية وغيرها من المواد مثل وثائق الأمم المتحدة الرسمية والعروض الرقمية. ويجمع مدوّنو المحاضر الموجزة بين مهارات الترجمة التحريرية والصياغة والتلخيص وتحري صحة الحقائق. وهم يسخّرون هذه المهارات لإعداد سرد لوقائع الجلسات يتيح للقارئ الذي لم يحضر جلسةً ما الإلمام بما جرى فيها كمثل القارئ الذي حضرها، مع الحفاظ في الوقت ذاته على مستوى عالٍ من دقة السرد وسلاسة الأسلوب. وهم يحددون، استنادا إلى حسن تقديرهم للأمور وإلمامهم بالموضوع، ما ينبغي إيجازه أو التوسع في سرده أو حذفه أو شرحه؛ ويقومون أيضا بإدراج المراجع اللازمة وتحري صحة الوقائع والتفاصيل في ضوء وثائق الهيئة المعنية وجميع قواعد البيانات المتاحة لهم.

 

أساليب العمل

وفقا للنماذج المعتمدة لإصدار وثائق الهيئات التداولية، يستخدم مدوّنو المحاضر الموجزة صيغا موحدة عند تناول المسائل المتعلقة بالإجراءات واتخاذ القرارات، بما في ذلك سير عملية التصويت. ولا بد أن يلموا على نحو تام بما يستجد فيما يتعلق بجميع المسائل التي تُناقش في جلسات الهيئات الحكومية الدولية، وهو ما يتطلب في كثير من الأحيان إجراء بحوث مستفيضة في مجالات مختلفة. ويشكّل نتاج عملهم السجلَ الدائم والتاريخي المحفوظ - في شكل كتابي - لكل ما تشهده الجلسات من بيانات ومناقشات وما تنتهي إليه من نتائج. وهم مطالبون بالحرص على الاستمرارية في بيان ما يجري في الجلسات المتتالية وفي مجموعات الجلسات التي تتناول موضوعا بعينه. وقرار حضور مدوّني المحاضر الموجزة الجلسات شخصيا أو امتناعهم عن ذلك يرتهن بموضوع الجلسة ودرجة تعقده وبعدد الجلسات التي تُعقد متزامنةً.

 

المهارات المطلوبة

يُطلب من المترجمين التحريريين/مدوّني المحاضر الموجزة، إلى جانب امتلاك مهارات لغوية ممتازة فيما لا يقل عن ثلاث لغات رسمية وقدرة متميزة على الكتابة بلغتهم الرئيسية مع الحفاظ على سلامة الأسلوب، أن يكونوا على دراية بطائفة واسعة من المواضيع التي تتناولها الأمم المتحدة، أي ما يتصل منها بالشؤون السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية وشؤون نزع السلاح ومكافحة الإرهاب والمسائل القانونية والعمل الإنساني وحفظ السلام وشؤون المالية والإدارة والمسائل العلمية والتقنية.

 

الموارد

المحاضر الموجزة، كغيرها من الوثائق الرسمية للأمم المتحدة، تحمل رمزا للوثيقة التي ترد فيها. وبالنسبة للمحاضر الموجزة، ينتهي رمز الوثيقة بالحرفين ”SR“ وبرقم يبيّن ترتيب الجلسة ضمن التسلسل الزمني للجلسات (الذي يكون في بعض الحالات مستمرا وفي حالات أخرى مصنفا حسب الدورة). وجميع المحاضر الموجزة، باستثناء تلك التي تتناول وقائع الجلسات المغلقة، متاح في نظام الوثائق الرسمية ويمكن الوصول إليه عن طريق روابط إلكترونية على صفحات الموقع الشبكي للأمم المتحدة.

Précis-writing

Précis-writing, or the drafting of summary records of meetings, is a regular and integral part of the job of some United Nations translators (mainly the translators whose main language is English or French) at the United Nations Offices at New York, Geneva and Vienna. They draft official records of meetings of United Nations intergovernmental bodies entitled to receive such records, including the Main Committees of the General Assembly, Security Council committees, the Economic and Social Council, human rights treaty bodies, the Peacebuilding Commission, the Special Committee on Decolonization, the International Law Commission and the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.

 

Summary records

Summary records, like verbatim records, are part of the institutional memory of the United Nations. Unlike verbatim records, they are not word-for-word accounts of the proceedings of a meeting, but rather the product of a summarized analysis of a meeting. They are meant to indicate who spoke at the meeting, what was said and what was decided. Apart from constituting the official record of the meeting, they are used as a basis for intergovernmental discussion, for compiling reports and conducting research on the subjects covered, and sometimes in the decisions of experts or judges. Each original summary record (in English or French) is translated into some or all of the other official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, Russian and Spanish).

 

Role of précis-writers

Précis-writers summarize speeches delivered by delegates, using for reference written and oral statements, audio/video recordings and other material such as official United Nations documents and digital presentations. Combining the skills of translation, drafting, summarizing and fact-checking, précis-writers produce an account of a meeting that can be understood equally well by a reader who was present at the meeting and a reader who was not, maintaining high standards of accuracy and writing style. They use their judgment and their knowledge of the subject matter to determine what should be condensed, expanded, omitted or explained. They insert necessary references, and check facts and details against the documentation of the body concerned and all available databases.

 

Working methods

In accordance with prescribed models for parliamentary procedures, précis-writers employ standardized formulas when dealing with procedural and decision-making matters, including the conduct of voting. They must be thoroughly up to date on all issues discussed in meetings of intergovernmental bodies, which often requires extensive research in different areas. Their work represents the permanent, historical record – in written form – of all statements, discussions and outcomes of a meeting. They must be careful to maintain continuity from one meeting to the next, and within a series of meetings on the same subject. The content and complexity of meetings, and the number of meetings occurring simultaneously, determine whether précis-writers attend in person.

 

Skills required

In addition to excellent language skills in at least three official languages, and excellent writing style in their main language, translators/précis-writers are expected to have knowledge of a broad range of subjects dealt with by the United Nations, that is to say, in the political, social, economic, disarmament, counter-terrorism, legal, humanitarian, peacekeeping, financial and administrative, scientific and technical fields.

 

Resources

Like other official documents of the United Nations, summary records are identified by a document symbol. In the case of summary records, the end of the symbol will contain the letters “SR” and a number denoting the order of the meeting within a chronology (in some cases continuous, and in other cases divided by session). All summary records, except those covering closed meetings, are available on the Official Document System and hyperlinked on United Nations web pages.