المهن اللغوية

يأتي موظفو اللغات في الأمم المتحدة من أنحاء العالم قاطبة ويشكلون نواة متفردة ومتنوعة من منظور التعدد اللغوي. والقاسم المشترك الذي يجمع بينهم هو السعي إلى بلوغ أعلى مراتب الجودة كل في مجال تخصصه، والحماس الذي يشعرون به إذ يجدون أنفسهم في صدارة الجهد المبذول بشأن القضايا الدولية، ثم حرصهم على المساهمة في بلوغ مقاصد الأمم المتحدة، على النحو المبين في الميثاق، وكل ذلك من خلال دورهم في تيسير التواصل واتخاذ القرارات.

 

موظفو اللغات في الأمم المتحدة بالأرقام
 
الأمم المتحدة واحدة من أكبر مشغلي المهنيين اللغويين في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويعمل المئات من هؤلاء في إدارة شؤون الجمعية العامة والمؤتمرات في نيويورك وجنيف وفيينا ونيروبي، أو في اللجان الإقليمية للأمم المتحدة في أديس أبابا وبانكوك وبيروت وجنيف وسانتياغو.

 

ماذا نعني بموظفي اللغات في الأمم المتحدة؟
 
في الأمم المتحدة، يغطي مصطلح ’’المهنيين اللغويين‘‘ طائفة واسعة من الأخصائيين، مثل المترجمين الشفويين، والمترجمين التحريريين، والمحررين، ومدوني المحاضر الحرفية، وأخصائيي المصطلحات، والمساعدين لشؤون المراجع، ومحضري المواد المطبعية/مصححي التجارب المطبعية/مشرفي الإنتاج.

 

ماذا نعني بعبارة ”اللغة الرئيسية“؟
 
في سياق الأمم المتحدة، تشير ”اللغة الرئيسية“ عموما إلى اللغة التي نال بها المرشح شهاداته في التعليم العالي. غير أن علماء اللغة خارج نطاق الأمم المتحدة يشيرون عموما إلى ’’اللغة الرئيسية‘‘ باعتبارها ’’اللغة المنقول إليها‘‘، أي اللغة التي ينجز بها المهنيون اللغويون المهام الموكولة إليهم.

 

كيف يجري توظيف موظفي اللغات؟
 
السبيل الرئيسي إلى بدء حياة وظيفية في الأمم المتحدة كمهني لغوي هي اجتياز الامتحان التنافسي للوظائف اللغوية. وتدرج أسماء المرشحين الذين يجتازون الامتحانات التنافسية في قوائم المرشحين المقبولين ويتمّ توظيفهم في الفئة الفنية عند شغور الوظائف. ويشجع المهنيون اللغويون من جميغ المناطق ممن يستوفون شروط القبول على التقدم للامتحانات. ويقيم موظفو اللغات في الأمم المتحدة على أساس مستوى تعليمهم وخبرتهم وأدائهم أثناء عملية الاختبار. ولا تؤخذ الجنسية أو بلد الموطن في الاعتبار.

 

ما هي الخلفية المطلوبة بالنسبة لموظفي اللغات؟
 
لا ينحصر المرشحون الناجحون في المرشحين الذين تدربوا على المهن اللغوية فحسب، وإنما يشملون أيضا مرشحين من طائفة متنوعة من المجالات الأخرى، مثل الصحافة والقانون والاقتصاد، بل وحتى الهندسة أو الطب. فهذه الخلفيات المختلفة تتيح للمنظمة أن تكون أكثر سرعة ومرونة وتجعلها أقدر على التكيف مع البيئات الحكومية الدولية المعقدة.

 

لماذا تشتمل إدارة شؤون الجمعية العامة والمؤتمرات على برنامج للتواصل؟
 
نظرا لمختلف المواضيع التي تعالَج في الأمم المتحدة، وبالنظر إلى المعايير العالية التي تعتمدها من حيث الجودة والإنتاجية، وإلى تزايد عدد المنظمات الدولية التي تستعين بالمهنيين اللغويين، فإن العثور على المرشحين المثاليين أمر صعب، لا سيما في بعض التشكيلات اللغوية. ولهذا السبب، استهلت إدارة شؤون الجمعية العامة والمؤتمرات برنامجها للتواصل في عام 2007، الذي يركز على التعاون مع الجامعات. ويؤمل أن تتيح هذه الصفحات الشبكية للأمم المتحدة الاستفادة من الشراكات القائمة وإقامة شراكات جديدة، واستقطاب أكثر المهنيين اللغويين كفاءة ليتسنى للمنظمة مواصلة تقديم خدمات مؤتمرات عالية الجودة إلى الهيئات الحكومية الدولية للأمم المتحدة.

Language careers

United Nations language staff come from all over the globe and make up a uniquely diverse and multilingual community. What unites them is the pursuit of excellence in their respective areas, the excitement of being at the forefront of international affairs and the desire to contribute to the realization of the purposes of the United Nations, as outlined in the Charter, by facilitating communication and decision-making.

United Nations language staff in numbers

The United Nations is one of the world's largest employers of language professionals. Several hundred such staff work for the Department for General Assembly and Conference Management in New York, Geneva, Vienna and Nairobi, or at the United Nations regional commissions in Addis Ababa, Bangkok, Beirut, Geneva and Santiago.

What do we mean by “language professionals”?

At the United Nations, the term “language professional” covers a wide range of specialists, such as interpreters, translators, editors, verbatim reporters, terminologists, reference assistants and copy preparers/proofreaders/production editors.

What do we mean by “main language”?

At the United Nations, “main language” generally refers to the language of an individual's higher education. For linguists outside the Organization, on the other hand, “main language” is usually taken to mean the “target language” into which an individual works.

How are language professionals recruited?

The main recruitment path for United Nations language professionals is through competitive examinations for language positions, whereby successful examinees are placed on rosters for recruitment and are hired as and when job vacancies arise.  Language professionals from all regions, who meet the eligibility requirements, are encouraged to apply.  Candidates are judged solely on their academic and other qualifications and on their performance in the examination.  Nationality/citizenship is not a consideration.

What kind of background do United Nations language professionals need?

Our recruits do not all have a background in languages. Some have a background in other fields, including journalism, law, economics and even engineering or medicine. These are of great benefit to the United Nations, which deals with a large variety of subjects.

Why does the Department have an outreach programme?

Finding the right profile of candidate for United Nations language positions is challenging, especially for certain language combinations. The United Nations is not the only international organization looking for skilled language professionals, and it deals with a wide variety of subjects, often politically sensitive. Its language staff must meet high quality and productivity standards. This is why the Department has had an outreach programme focusing on collaboration with universities since 2007. The Department hopes to build on existing partnerships, forge new partnerships, and attract the qualified staff it needs to continue providing high-quality conference services at the United Nations.