Russian Federation

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics was an original Member of the United Nations from 24 October 1945.

In a letter dated 24 December 1991, Boris Yeltsin, the President of the Russian Federation, informed the Secretary-General that the membership of the Soviet Union in the Security Council and all other United Nations organs was being continued by the Russian Federation with the support of the 11 member countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

« Back to Member States List