Since the birth of the United Nations, more than 80 former colonies comprising some 750 million people have gained independence. At present, 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories (NSGTs) across the globe remain on the list of Non-Self-Governing Territories, home to nearly 2 million people. Thus, the process of decolonization is not complete. Completing this mandate will require a continuing dialogue among the administering Powers, the Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence of Colonial Countries and Peoples (also known as the "Special Committee on Decolonization" or the "C-24") and the peoples of the Non-Self-Governing Territories, in accordance with the relevant United Nations resolutions on decolonization. For more details, see the About page.


Latest developments

In the Spotlight


“[…] challenges, exacerbated by the multifaceted  
impact of the COVOD-19 pandemic on the fragile  
economies of the Territories, reinforces the need
to making sure that no one is left behind.” 

C-24 Chair 
at the 2021 ECOSOC first formal meeting

14 September 2020

Secretary-General's message


"This year marks the last year of the Third International Decade to Eradicate Colonialism.This milestone is an important opportunity to take stock of our progress. I will remain alongside you as you make another push to eradicate colonialism once and for all."

Secretary-General's remarks at
the Special Committee on Decolonization
21 February 2020