General Assembly of the United Nations

Countries in arrears in the payment of their financial contributions under the terms of Article 19 of the UN Charter

Under Article 19 of the Charter, a Member State in arrears in the payment of its dues in an amount that equals or exceeds the contributions due for two preceding years can lose its vote in the General Assembly.

An exception is allowed if the Member State can show that conditions beyond its control contributed to this inability to pay.

Four Member States are currently in arrears under the terms of Article 19 of the Charter (see A/71/381). On 3 October 2016, the General Assembly decided that these four Member States shall be permitted to vote in the General Assembly until the end of the current session (See A/RES/71/2):

  1. Comoros
  2. Guinea-Bissau
  3. Sao Tome and Principe
  4. Somalia

For more information, see the Committee on Contributions.


Quick Links

Key Documents