“恐怖主义分子,包括外国恐怖主义作战人员,使用各种技术前往世界各地的目的地。随着国际旅行者继续增加,我们必须制定有效的反恐措施,为快速、高效和安全通关提供便利。”

——负责联合国反恐怖主义办公室的副秘书长弗拉基米尔·沃伦科夫

改善边境安全和管理

  反恐中心的边境安全和管理方案旨在通过改善边境安全和管理,加强会员国防止恐怖主义分子越境流动和阻止外国恐怖主义作战人员流动的能力。

  该方案以反恐背景下对目前边境安全漏洞所作的深入分析为依据。反恐中心以前的项目,如联合国反恐委员会-全球反恐论坛边境安全倡议、提高认识和建设旅客信息预报的项目,以及由其他联合国实体、会员国以及国际和区域组织目前在全球范围内实施的边境安全和管理项目确定了这些漏洞。反恐中心还借鉴了反恐执行局的分析。

方案授权

  恐怖主义团体成员和外国恐怖主义作战人员继续穿越管控松散的偏远地区。这些地区往往有漏洞。阻止这种流动是全球反恐努力的关键要素,需要全球、区域和国家各级协调一致的合作。

  反恐中心边境安全和管理方案为制定广泛的能力建设项目提供了框架,有助于执行《联合国全球反恐战略》支柱二和安全理事会相关决议,包括关于防止外国恐怖主义作战人员旅行的第2178(2014)号决议、关于反恐国际合作的第2322(2016)号决议、关于回返的外国恐怖主义作战人员构成威胁的第2396(2017)号决议以及最近关于恐怖主义与犯罪关系的第2482(2019)号决议。

方案活动

  边境安全和管理方案的主要交付成果和正在进行的项目包括:

  • 向会员国、区域和/或次区域机构提供专题专门知识,帮助制定和执行包括反恐措施在内的全面边境管理战略和行动计划
  • 根据既定的“旨在加强国家和区域反恐能力的边境安全和管理良好做法”,提供专门、量身定做的能力建设培训
  • 制订和散发参考材料和指导工具,包括关于空运、海运、铁路和巴士旅行的跨境旅行周期模块
  • 提倡使用《联合国关于在反恐活动中负责任地使用和分享生物特征数据的推荐做法汇编》,推动区域活动,提高各国负责任地使用和分享生物特征数据的认识、知识和能力

方案的协调作用

  反恐中心的边境安全和管理方案旨在保持灵活性,便于密切协调,在联合国全球反恐协调契约主要伙伴实体、区域和/或次区域机构现有努力的基础上再接再厉,应对不断变化的威胁局面,最重要的是,满足会员国不断变化的需求和要求。反恐中心与毒品和犯罪问题办公室、国际移民组织、反恐执行局和其他执行该方案的机构保持密切合作。

方案影响

  反恐中心边境安全和管理方案的影响举例如下:

  • 受援会员国和区域机构提高了对边境安全和管理领域既定“良好做法”的认知和理解。这些做法涉及阻止外国恐怖主义作战人员的跨境流动。会员国和区域机构还在各自的国家边境管理战略和行动计划中纳入了这些做法。
  • 受援会员国提高了对陆运、空运、海运和铁路等所有跨境运输方式以及相关风险评估和识别技术方面的良好做法的认知。
  • 受援会员国提高了对旅客信息预报的认知和理解。旅客信息预报是加强边境安全和管理、阻止外国恐怖主义作战人员流动的一项工具。
  • 受援会员国改进了边境安全和管理的机构性培训。培训涉及反恐和阻止外国恐怖主义作战人员的流动。
  • 受援会员国的边境当局获得了有关技术知识和实践技能,可利用尖端通信技术和设备阻止外国恐怖主义作战人员的流动。

  2019年7月,反恐中心边境安全和管理股与毒品和犯罪问题办公室全球机场通信项目联合举办了一次专门的区域培训,建设加勒比区域内国际机场一线边境官员应对恐怖主义相关威胁的能力。来自多米尼加共和国、海地、特立尼达和多巴哥、牙买加和古巴超过45名官员参加了培训。另有来自广大加勒比-拉丁美洲区域的350人通过虚拟在线学习平台在线参加了培训课程。

  同年,边境安全和管理小组组织了5次区域能力建设培训和另外3次国家级培训。该小组还为国际移民组织、毒品和犯罪问题办公室、人权高专办、国际刑警组织、世界海关组织、北约、欧安组织、欧盟边管局和全球反恐论坛等关键合作伙伴提供了支持。

联合国全球反恐战略

2006年9月8日,联合国大会以协商一致方式通过了《联合国全球反恐战略》。该战略是加强国家、区域和国际反恐努力的一份独特的全球文书。大会每两年审查一次该战略,从而使其成为符合会员国反恐优先事项的一份活文件。

反恐办2019年度报告

关于反恐办五年方案第四年的2019年年度报告

《关于反恐办五年方案第四年的2019年年度报告》 全面概述了2019年实施的联合国反恐中心的所有方案和项目,包括其实质性业绩和财务执行情况。

[2018年]  [2017年]

Border security and management

“Terrorists, including foreign terrorist fighters use a wide variety of techniques to travel to destinations all over the world. With the number of international travelers continuing to increase, it is essential that we develop efficient counter-terrorism measures that facilitates rapid, efficient and secure processing at our borders.”

-- Under-Secretary-General Vladimir Voronkov, United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism

Improving border security and management

Through its Border Security and Management (BSM) Programme, UNCCT aims to strengthening Member States’ capacities to prevent the cross-border movement of terrorists and stem the flow of foreign terrorist fighters (FTFs) through improved border security and management. 

The Programme is based on in-depth analysis of current border security gaps in the context of counter-terrorism that have been identified through previous UNCCT projects, such as the UNCCT-GCTF Border Security Initiative and the project on Raising Awareness and Building Capacity on Advance Passenger Information (API), as well as projects relating to border security and management that are currently being implemented globally by other UN entities, Member States and International and Regional Organizations (IROs). UNCCT also draws on the analysis of CTED. 

Mandate of the Programme 

Members of terrorist groups and FTFs continue moving across remote and sparsely controlled border zones that are often porous. Stemming this flow is recognized as a key element of global counter-terrorism efforts and requires concerted cooperation at the global, regional and national levels.  

UNCCT’s Border Security and Management Programme provides the framework for the development of a broad range of capacity building projects contributing towards the implementation of Pillar II of the UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy and relevant Security Council resolutions, including resolution 2178 (2014) on preventing the travel of FTFs,  resolution 2322 (2016) on international cooperation in counter-terrorism, resolution 2396 (2017) on the threat posed by returning FTFs, and most recently resolution 2482 (2019)  on the terrorism-crime nexus. 

Programme’s activities  

Key deliverables and ongoing projects of the BSM Programme include:  

  • Provision of thematic expertise to Member States, regional and/or sub-regional bodies in developing and implementing comprehensive border management strategies and action plans which incorporate counterterrorism measures 
  • Delivery of specialized, tailored capacity-building training based on established ‘Good Practices in Border Security and Management to Strengthen National and Regional Capacities in Countering Terrorism’ 
  • Development and dissemination of reference material and guidance tools including modules on cross-border travel cycle pertaining to air, maritime, rail and bus travel 
  • Promoting utilization of the UN Compendium of Recommended Practices for the Responsible Use and Sharing of Biometrics in Counter Terrorism and regional activities to enhance awareness, knowledge and capacity of States to use and share biometric data in a responsible manner 

Programme’s coordination role 

UNCCT’s BSM Programme is intended to be flexible in nature to allow for close coordination and build on existing efforts of key UN Global Counter-Terrorism Coordination Compact partner entities, regional and/or sub-regional bodies, as well as to address the ever-changing threat landscape, and most critically, to meet the evolving needs and requirements of Member States. UNCCT works closely with UNODC, IOM, CTED and others implementing the Programme. 

Programme’s impact 

Examples of UNCCT’s Border Security and Management Programme impact include: 

  • Assisted Member States and Regional bodies have enhanced awareness and understanding of established ‘Good Practices’ in the area of BSM as they relate to stemming the flow of FTFs across borders and have incorporated them within their National Border Management Strategies and Action Plans. 
  • Assisted Member States have enhanced awareness of good practices in all modes of cross-border transportation: land, air, sea and rail and related risk assessment and identification technologies.  
  • Assisted Member States have increased awareness and understanding of Advanced Passenger Information (API) as a tool for enhancing BSM and stemming the flow of FTFs. 
  • Assisted Member States have improved institutional training on BSM as it relates to counter-terrorism and stemming the flow of FTFs. 
  • Assisted Member States’ border authorities have acquired technical knowledge and practical skills to utilize cutting-edge communication technologies and equipment for stemming the flow of FTFs. 

In July 2019, the UNCCT BSM Unit, together with UNODC AIRCOP, delivered a specialized regional training to build the capacities of front-line border officials at international airports to address terrorism-related threats within the Caribbean region. This training was delivered to more than 45 officials from the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Cuba, as well 350 online participants from the broader Caribbean-Latin American region who followed the training course via a virtual online learning platform. 

The same year, the BSM team delivered 5 regional capacity building trainings and an additional 3 on the national level. The team also supported key partners such as IOM, UNODC, OHCHR, INTERPOL, WCO, NATO, OSCE, FRONTEX, and GCTF.

UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy

The UN General Assembly adopted by consensus the UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy on 8 September 2006. The strategy is a unique global instrument to enhance national, regional and international efforts to counter terrorism. The General Assembly reviews the Strategy every two years, making it a living document attuned to Member States’ counter-terrorism priorities.

UNCCT 2019 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report on the Fourth Year of the UNCCT 5-Year Programme

The "2019 Annual Report on the Fourth Year of the UNCCT 5-Year Programme" provides a comprehensive overview of all UN Counter Terrorism Centre's Programmes and Projects implemented in 2019, including their substantive and financial performance.

Previous Annual reports: [2018]  [2017]