القيادة

يضطلع مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب بالقيادة الاستراتيجية والتنسيق ودعم بناء القدرات للدول الأعضاء ولأعضاء فرقة العمل المعنية بميثاق الأمم المتحدة العالمي لتنسيق مكافحة الإرهاب، دعماً لجهودهم الرامية إلى تنفيذ، استراتيجية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب وقرارات استعراضها بطريقة شاملة ومتوازنة، وكذلك قرارات مجلس الأمن ذات الصلة بالموضوع.

وكيل الأمين العام لمكافحة الإرهاب، الذي يعيّنه الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، هو رئيس مكتب الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب والمدير التنفيذي لمركز الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب. وهوعضو في اللجنة التنفيذية التابعة للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة كذلك، وفريق الإدارة العليا، ومجلس الرؤساء التنفيذيين، والفريق الدائم للمسؤولين الرئيسيين، ومنتديات أخرى لكبار المسؤولين في الأمم المتحدة. وعلاوة على ذلك، يرأس فرقة العمل المعنية باتفاق الأمم المتحدة العالمي لتنسيق مكافحة الإرهاب نيابة عن الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة. ويساعد وكيلَ الأمين العام نائبُ وكيل الأمين العام ومدير مركز الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب، إضافة إلى فريق الإدارة العليا في مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب.

 

السير الذاتية

السيد فلاديمير فورونكوف - المدير التنفيذي لمركز الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب

Portrait photo of Under-Secretary-General Vladimir Voronkov

عُيّن السيد فلاديمير فورونكوف وكيلاً للأمين العام لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب في 21 حزيران/ يونيه 2017، المنشأ بموجب قرار الجمعية العامة 71/291.

يجلب السيد فورونكوف إلى منصبه أكثر من 30 عامًا من الخبرة في الخدمة الخارجية للاتحاد الروسي، حيث يعمل بشكل أساسي في شؤون الأمم المتحدة، مع مسؤوليات تتراوح بين الدبلوماسية العامة وقضايا التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية إلى الشؤون الحكومية الدولية.

وقبل تعيينه، كان السفير والممثل الدائم للاتحاد الروسي لدى المنظمات الدولية في فيينا، أطلقت البعثة الدائمة تحت قيادته العديد من المشاريع الرئيسية مع مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة، وأقامت تعاونا ناجحا مع فرع مكافحة الإرهاب التابع للمكتب. وعمل السيد فورونكوف كذلك في مجلس محافظي الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، وقاد خلالها عدة وفود من الاتحاد الروسي إلى لجنة المخدرات ولجنة منع الجريمة والعدالة الجنائية.

قبل أن يعمل في فيينا، كان السيد فورونكوف مديرًا لإدارة التعاون الأوروبي (2008-2011)، وخلال تلك الفترة عمل كرئيس للوفد الروسي خلال مفاوضات روسيا والاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن نظام التأشيرة (2010) -2011). وبدأ حياته المهنية مع وزارة الخارجية في عام 1989 وعمل في وظائف مختلفة، من بينها نائب الممثل الدائم للاتحاد الروسي لدى منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا في فيينا (2005-2008)، ونائب مدير إدارة شؤون الموظفين (2002-2005) ووزير مستشار ونائب رئيس بعثة السفارة الروسية في بولندا (2000-2002).

يحمل السيد فورونكوف درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة موسكو الحكومية. وقام بتأليف العديد من المنشورات العلمية حول القضايا الدولية.

نائب وكيل الأمين العام والمدير-السيد رافي غريغوريان 

أتى السيد رافي غريغوريان إلى الأمم المتحدة ومعه أكثر من 33 عاماً من التجربة الأكاديمية والدبلوماسية والعسكرية في مجال مكافحة الإرهاب والسلم والأمن الدوليين. وإلى غاية أيلول/سبتمبر 2019، عندما عُين نائباً لوكيل الأمين العام لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب، كان مدير الشؤون المتعددة الأطراف في مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب بوزارة خارجية الولايات المتحدة.

وقبل ذلك، شغل السيد غريغوريان مناصب عليا مختلفة في وزارة خارجية الولايات المتحدة، من ضمنها القائم بأعمال نائب منسق مكافحة الإرهاب ومدير مكتب عمليات السلام والجزاءات ومكافحة الإرهاب في الفترة 2012-2015.  وخلال منصبه هذا، استحدث أول سياسة جديدة لحفظ السلام في الولايات المتحدة منذ 25 عاماً، وقاد عدداً من إصلاحات حفظ السلام المهمة، وساعد في تأمين التمويل الكامل لميزانية الأمم المتحدة لحفظ السلام. وتشمل تجربة السيد غريغوريان الميدانية قيادة بعثتين متعددتي الجنسيات في البوسنة والهرسك بالإضافة إلى الخدمة العسكرية في البوسنة والهرسك وفي كوسوفو. ففي البوسنة والهرسك، كان هو النائب الأول للممثل السامي (2007-2010) ولعدة أشهر أيضاً الممثل السامي بالنيابة وكذلك المشرف على مقاطعة برتشكو (2006-2010)، بعد أن شغل منصب المستشار السياسي لمقر منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي في سراييفو ومنصب أحد رئيسيْ لجنة إصلاح شؤون الدفاع في البوسنة والهرسك (2004-2006).

وشملت خدمته السابقة في وزارة الخارجية عمله رئيساً لموظفي مكتب المستشار الخاص للرئيس ووزير الدولة لشؤون كوسوفو وتنفيذ اتفاقات دايتون والمدير بالنيابة لتنفيذ الاتفاقات في كوسوفو.

والسيد غريغوريان حاصل على شهادة دكتوراه في العلاقات الدولية والدراسات الاستراتيجية من كلية الدراسات الدولية العليا بجامعة جونز هوبكنز، وشهادة ماجستير في الدراسات الحربية من كلية كينغز في لندن، وشهادة بكالوريوس مع مرتبة الشرف في التاريخ من جامعة بنسلفانيا.  كما ألف العديد من المنشورات الأكاديمية.

المدير - السيد جهانجير خان

الدكتور جيهانغير خان مدير مركز الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الإرهاب ومكتب مكافحة الإرهاب.

وعمل في وظائف مختلفة في الأمم المتحدة لأكثر من 30 عامًا، كمندوب للأمم المتحدة (لمدة تسع سنوات) وكمسؤول في الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة (لأكثر من 21 عامًا)، وعمل سابقًا كمدير بالنيابة ونائب مدير شعبة الشرق الأوسط وغرب آسيا، وقبل ذلك في شعبة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ. كما شغل منصب رئيس فريق العراق التابع لوزارة الدفاع الأمريكية ورئيس مجموعة فريق العمليات في العراق التابعة للأمم المتحدة لمدة خمس سنوات، بدءًا من حرب عام 2003، ودعم عمل ست مجموعات متعاقبة من الممثل الخاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة وبعثة الأمم المتحدة لتقديم المساعدة في العراق . وقبل ذلك، شغل منصب نائب رئيس تخطيط السياسة في إدارة الشؤون السياسية.

وقبل انضمامه إلى الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة في عام 1992، شغل الدكتور خان منصب رئيس ديوان رئيس الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة وعمل قبل ذلك مستشارًا سياسيًا للممثل الدائم للمملكة العربية السعودية لدى الأمم المتحدة. الدكتور خان مواطن باكستاني، تخرج من جامعة لندن ويحمل درجة الدكتوراه في القانون الدولي من كلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية / كلية الحقوق بجامعة هارفارد.

Leadership

The United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT) provides strategic leadership, coordination and capacity building support to Member States and to the members of the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Coordination Compact Task Force, in support of their efforts to implement, in a comprehensive and balanced manner, the UN Counter-Terrorism Strategy and its review resolutions, as well as relevant Security Council resolutions.

The Under-Secretary-General for Counter-Terrorism, appointed by the UN Secretary-General, is the head of UN Office of Counter-Terrorism and Executive Director of the United Nations Counter-Terrorism Centre (UNCCT). He is also a member of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Executive Committee, Senior Management Group, Chief Executive Board, Standing Principals Group and other fora of senior United Nations officials. Furthermore, he chairs the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Coordination Compact Task Force on behalf of the United Nations Secretary-General. The Under-Secretary-General is assisted by a Deputy to the Under-Secretary-General and the Director of UNCCT, as well as UNOCT’s Senior Management Team.

Biographies

Mr. Vladimir Voronkov - Under Secretary General for Counter-Terrorism

Portrait photo of Under-Secretary-General Vladimir Voronkov

Mr. Vladimir Voronkov was appointed Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism on 21 June 2017, established by General Assembly resolution 71/291.
Mr. Voronkov brings to the position more than 30 years of experience within the Foreign Service of the Russian Federation, working primarily on United Nations affairs, with responsibilities ranging from public diplomacy and social and economic development issues to intergovernmental affairs.

Prior to his appointment, he was Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the International Organizations in Vienna. Under his leadership, the Permanent Mission launched several flagship projects with the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crimes (UNODC) and developed successful collaborations with the UNODC Antiterrorist Branch. Mr. Voronkov also served on the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), during which time he led several delegations of the Russian Federation to the Commission on Narcotic Drugs and the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice.

Prior to serving in Vienna, Mr. Voronkov was Director of the Department of European Cooperation (2008-2011), during which time he served as the Head of the Russian Delegation during the Russia-European Union negotiations on the visa-free regime (2010-2011). He started his career with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1989 and has served in various capacities, among them as Deputy Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) in Vienna (2005-2008), Deputy Director of the Personnel Department (2002-2005) and Minister Counsellor and Deputy Chief of Mission of the Russian Embassy to Poland (2000-2002).

Mr. Voronkov holds a PhD from Moscow State University. He has authored various scientific publications on international issues.

Mr. Raffi Gregorian - Deputy to the Under-Secretary-General and Director

Mr. Raffi Gregorian brings to the United Nations over 33 years of academic, diplomatic and military experience in counter-terrorism and international peace and security. Until September 2019, when he was appointed Deputy to the Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT), he was Director of Multilateral Affairs in the Bureau of Counterterrorism of the United States Department of State.

Prior to that, Mr. Gregorian held different senior positions in the United States Department of State, including Acting Deputy Coordinator for Counterterrorism and Director for the Office of Peace Operations, Sanctions, and Counterterrorism from 2012-2015.  In this latter capacity, he initiated the first new U.S. peacekeeping policy in 25 years, led a number of important peacekeeping reforms, and helped secure full funding for the UN peacekeeping budget. Mr. Gregorian’s field experience includes leading two multinational missions in Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) as well as military service in both BiH and in Kosovo. In BiH he was Principal Deputy High Representative (2007-2010) and for several months also Acting High Representative as well as Supervisor of Brčko District (2006-2010), having also served as Political Advisor for NATO Headquarters Sarajevo and Co-Chairman of the BiH Defense Reform Commission (2004-2006).

His previous State Department service included serving as chief of staff to the Special Adviser to the President and Secretary of State for Kosovo and Dayton Implementation and Acting Director for Kosovo Implementation.

Mr. Gregorian holds a Doctorate in International Relations and Strategic Studies from the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies, a Masters of Arts in War Studies from King’s College London, and a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in History from the University of Pennsylvania.  He is the author of several academic publications.

Dr. Jehangir Khan - Director of UNCCT

Dr. Jehangir Khan is the Director of the UN Counter-Terrorism Centre (UNCCT) and the Office of Counter-Terrorism.

He has served in different capacities at the UN for over 30 years, both as a UN delegate (for nine years) and as a UN Secretariat official (for over 21 years). Previously he served as Acting Director and Deputy Director of DPA’s Middle East and West Asia Division (MEWAD) and, before that, of the Asia and the Pacific Division (APD). He also served as Head of DPA's Iraq Team and Chairman of the UN Iraq Operations Group (IOG) for five years, starting with the 2003 war, and has supported the work of six successive SRSGs and the United Nations Assistance Mission (UNAMI) in Iraq. Prior to this, he served as Deputy Head of Policy Planning in the Department of Political Affairs.

Before joining the UN Secretariat in 1992, Dr. Khan served as Chef de Cabinet to the President of the UN General Assembly and previous to that he worked as Political Advisor to the Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to the United Nations. Dr. Khan is a national of Pakistan. He is a graduate of London University and holds a Doctorate in International Law from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy/Harvard Law School.