Circle of Leadership

  1. In 2017, the United Nations Secretary-General launched a new strategy to prevent and end sexual exploitation and abuse by United Nations personnel (A/71/818).  A major element of this new approach was the creation of a Circle of Leadership on the prevention of and response to sexual exploitation and abuse in United Nations operations (CoL) made up of global leaders who actively support this agenda.
  2. The CoL represents a visible and formidable symbol of Members’ commitment to end impunity, to strengthen measures to prevent sexual exploitation and abuse, to respond rapidly and decisively to credible reports of such acts, and to meet the needs of victims quickly and appropriately. It also provides the global high-level political support necessary for success.  On 18 September 2017, the CoL was formally established by the Secretary-General at the High-level Meeting on the Prevention of Sexual Exploitation and Abuse.  As at 22 August 2019, 80 sitting and former heads of State/Government are Members of the Circle of Leadership.
  3. Seven informal expert meetings of Member States whose Head of State/Government are members of the CoL have been held to discuss ways to ensure that the political momentum of the Secretary-General’s strategy to prevent sexual exploitation and abuse is sustained and intensified. These meetings took place on: 29 May 2018 (co-sponsors: Australia and Uruguay); 25 June 2018 (co-sponsors:  Finland and Morocco); 27 July 2018 (co-sponsors: The Kingdom of Bhutan and the United Kingdom); 17 August 2018 (co-sponsors: Bangladesh and Italy); 30 August 2018 (co-sponsors: Canada and the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia); 29 April 2019 (co-sponsors: The Republic of Korea and the Republic of South Africa), and 10 July 2019 (co-sponsors: Austria and the Arab Republic of Egypt).
  4. During these meetings Representatives of the Permanent Missions reiterated the commitment of their Head of State/Government to the Secretary-General’s strategy and the CoL.  They welcomed the opportunity to exchange ideas informally on progress made, good practices and related issues. All agreed that continuing expert-level engagement to discuss best practice and promote greater visibility of the CoL was critical. 
  5. On 27 September 2018, 49 Members of the Secretary-General’s Circle of Leadership on the Prevention of and Response to Sexual Exploitation and Abuse in United Nations Operations, and 21 United Nations Entities joined him in issuing a “Collective Statement” to reaffirm their continued personal commitment as global leaders to support efforts to combat sexual exploitation and abuse across the United Nations system.


Membership of the Secretary-General's Circle of Leadership 

As at 22 August 2019, the membership of the Secretary-General’s Circle of Leadership on the prevention of and response to sexual exploitation and abuse in United Nations operations stands at 80 sitting and former heads of State/Government.

Sitting heads of State/Government

  1. Principality of Andorra, Prime Minister Xavier Espot Zamora
  2. Argentina, President Mauricio Macri
  3. Australia, Prime Minister Scott Morrison
  4. Austria, President Alexander van der Bellen
  5. People's Republic of Bangladesh, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina*
  6. Belgium, Prime Minister Charles Michel
  7. Belize, Prime Minister Dean Barrow
  8. Plurinational State of Bolivia, President Evo Morales Ayma
  9. Bulgaria, President Rumen Radev
  10. Burkina Faso, President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré*
  11. Republic of Burundi, President Pierre Nkurunziza
  12. Republic of Cabo Verde, Prime Minister José Ulisses Correia e Silva
  13. Kingdom of Cambodia, Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen
  14. Canada, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
  15. Union of the Comoros, President Azali Assoumali
  16. Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, President Alassane Ouattara*
  17. Republic of Cyprus, President Nicos Anastasiades
  18. Denmark, Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen
  19. Republic of Djibouti, President and Head of Government Ismael Omar Guelleh*
  20. Dominican Republic, President Danilo Medina Sánchez
  21. Arab Republic of Egypt, President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi*
  22. Republic of Estonia, President Kersti Kaljulaid
  23. Republic of Fiji, Prime Minister Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama
  24. Finland, President Sauli Niinistö
  25. France, President Emmanuel Macron
  26. Georgia, President Salome Zourabichvili
  27. Germany, Chancellor Angela Merkel
  28. Ghana, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo*
  29. Iceland, Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir
  30. India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi*
  31. Ireland, Taoiseach Leo Varadker
  32. Italy, Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte*
  33. Japan, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe
  34. Republic of Kenya, President Uhuru Kenyatta
  35. Kingdom of Lesotho, Prime Minister Thomas Motsoahae Thabane
  36. Republic of Lithuania, President Dalia Grybauskaitė
  37. Republic of Malawi, President Arthur Peter Mutharika
  38. Malaysia, Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad
  39. Republic of Maldives, President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih
  40. Kingdom of Morocco, King Mohammed VI*
  41. Republic of Namibia, President Hage G. Geingob
  42. Kingdom of the Netherlands, Prime Minister Mark Rutte
  43. Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari*
  44. North Macedonia, Prime Minister Zoran Zaev
  45. Norway, Prime Minister Erna Solberg
  46. Pakistan, Prime Minister Imran Khan*
  47. Palau, President Tommy Esang Remengesau Jr.
  48. Panama, President Juan Carlos Varela Rodríguez
  49. Peru, President Martin Vizcarra Cornejo
  50. Portugal, Prime Minister António Luís Santos da Costa
  51. Republic of Korea, President Jae-in Moon
  52. Romania, President Klaus Werner Iohannis
  53. Republic of Rwanda, President Paul Kagame*
  54. Saint Lucia, Prime Minister Allen Michael Chastanet
  55. Republic of Senegal, President Macky Sall*
  56. Slovak Republic, President Zuzana Čaputová
  57. Republic of Slovenia, Prime Minister Marjan Šarec
  58. Republic of South Africa, President Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa*
  59. Spain, Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez
  60. Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, President Maithripala Sirisena
  61. Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, President Francisco Guterres Lú Olo
  62. Togo, President Faure Essozimna Gnassingbé*
  63. Republic of Uganda, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni
  64. United States of America, President Donald J. Trump
  65. Uruguay, President Tabaré Vázquez*
  66. Republic of Zambia, President Edgar Chagwa Lungu*

Former heads of State/Government

  1. Principality of Andorra, the former Prime Minister Antoni Martí-Petit
  2. Australia, the former Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull
  3. Kingdom of Bhutan, the former Prime Minister Lyonchoen Tshering Tobgay
  4. Brazil, the former President Michel Temer
  5. Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
    the former Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn*
  6. Iceland, the former Prime Minister Bjarni Benediktsson
  7. Italy, the former Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni
  8. Slovak Republic, the former President Andrej Kiska
  9. Republic of Slovenia, the former Prime Minister Miro Cerar
  10. Republic of South Africa, the former President Jacob Zuma
  11. Spain, the former Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy Brey
  12. Switzerland, the former President, Doris Leuthard
  13. Switzerland, the former President Alain Berset
  14. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the former Prime Minister Theresa May

Note: * Top 20 TCCs or PCCs as at 31 May 2019