Elections and Appointments

68th session - Election of the Human Rights Council (12 November 2013)

The General Assembly elected the following 14 members:

Algeria, China, Cuba, France, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Kingdom and Viet Nam.

Press Release | Video

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251 the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups:

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

In accordance with paragraphs 4 and 5 of General Assembly resolution 65/281, from 2013, the Human Rights Council will start its yearly membership cycle on 1 January. Also, as a transitional measure, the period of office of members of the Human Rights Council ending in June 2012, June 2013 and June 2014 will exceptionally be extended until the end of the respective calendar year.

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.

List of candidates

Click on country name below for additional information on candidature.

African States
(4 vacant seats)
Asia-Pacific States
(4 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(2 vacant seats)
Western European & other States
(2 vacant seats)
Algeria [A/68/153] China [A/68/90] Russian Federation [A/68/155]]
Cuba [A/68/369] France [A/68/570]
Morocco [A/68/83] Maldives [A/68/359] The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia [A/68/93] Mexico [A/68/85] United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland [A/68/512]
Namibia [A/68/522] Saudi Arabia [A/68/535]   Uruguay [A/68/165]  
South Africa [A/68/391] Viet Nam [A/68/312]      
South Sudan [A/68/565]        

List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 31 December 2013.

African States Asia-Pacific States Eastern European States Latin American &
Caribbean States 
Western European
& other States
Angola 2013 India 2014 Czech Republic 2014 Argentina 2015 Austria 2014
Benin 2014 Indonesia 2014 Estonia 2015 Brazil 2015 Germany 2015
Botswana 2014 Japan 2015 Montenegro 2015 Chile 2014 Ireland 2015
Burkina Faso 2014 Kazakhstan 2015 Poland 2013 Costa Rica 2014 Italy 2014
Congo 2014 Kuwait 2014 Republic of Moldova 2013 Ecuador 2013 Spain 2013
Côte d'Ivoire 2015 Malaysia 2013 Romania 2014 Guatemala 2013 Switzerland 2013
Ethiopia 2015 Maldives 2013   Peru 2014 United States 2015
Gabon 2015 Pakistan 2015   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) 2015  
Kenya 2015 Philippines 2014      
Libya 2013 Qatar 2013      
Mauritania 2013 Republic of Korea 2015      
Sierra Leone 2015 Thailand 2013      
Uganda 2013 United Arab Emirates 2015      

Quick Links

Key Documents