Elections and Appointments

70th session - Election of the Human Rights Council (28 October 2015)

The General Assembly elected the following 18 members:

Belgium, Burundi, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Webcast | Press release

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251 the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups:

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

In accordance with paragraphs 4 and 5 of General Assembly resolution 65/281, from 2013, the Human Rights Council will start its yearly membership cycle on 1 January.

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.

List of candidates

Click on country name below for additional information on candidature.

African States
(5 vacant seats)
Asia-Pacific States
(5 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(3 vacant seats)
Western European & other States
(3 vacant seats)
Burundi Kyrgyzstan Georgia [A/70/134]
Bahamas Belgium [A/70/89]
Côte d'Ivoire Lao People’s Democratic Republic Slovenia [A/70/358] Ecuador [A/70/409] Germany [A/70/113]
Ethiopia Mongolia [A/70/375]   Panama [A/70/71] Switzerland [A/70/70]
Kenya Pakistan   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) [A/70/376]  
Togo Philippines [A/70/424]      
  Republic of Korea [A/70/88]      
  United Arab Emirates [A/70/377]      

List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 31 December 2015.

African States Asia-Pacific States Eastern European States Latin American &
Caribbean States 
Western European
& other States
Algeria 2016 Bangladesh 2017 Albania 2017 Argentina 2015 France 2016
Botswana 2017 China 2016 Estonia 2015 Bolivia (Plurinational State of) 2017 Germany 2015
Congo 2017 India 2017 Latvia 2017 Brazil 2015 Ireland 2015
Côte d'Ivoire 2015 Indonesia 2017 Montenegro 2015 Cuba 2016 Netherlands 2017
Ethiopia 2015 Japan 2015 Russian Federation 2016 El Salvador 2017 Portugal 2017
Gabon 2015 Kazakhstan 2015 The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia 2016 Mexico 2016 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2016
Kenya 2015 Maldives 2016   Paraguay 2017 United States 2015
Morocco 2016 Pakistan 2015   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) 2015  
Namibia 2016 Qatar 2017      
Nigeria 2017 Republic of Korea 2015      
Sierra Leone 2015 Saudi Arabia 2016      
South Africa 2016 United Arab Emirates 2015      
  Viet Nam 2016      

Quick Links

Key Documents