Elections and Appointments

67th session - Election of the Human Rights Council (12 November 2012)

Results of the election of 18 members of the Human Rights Council:

Argentina, Brazil, Côte d’Ivoire, Estonia, Ethiopia, Gabon, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Montenegro, Pakistan, the Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, the United Arab Emirates, the United States and Venezuela. 

Press Release | Webcast

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251 the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups:

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

In accordance with paragraphs 4 and 5 of General Assembly resolution 65/281, from 2013, the Human Rights Council will start its yearly membership cycle on 1 January. Also, as a transitional measure, the period of office of members of the Human Rights Council ending in June 2012, June 2013 and June 2014 will exceptionally be extended until the end of the respective calendar year.

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.

List of candidates

Click on country name below for additional information on candidature.

African States
(5 vacant seats)
Asia-Pacific States
(5 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(3 vacant seats)
Western European & other States
(3 vacant seats)
Côte d'Ivoire
  Venezuela (Bolivarian Rep. of)
Republic of Korea
Sierra Leone
United Arab Emirates
    United States


List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 31 December 2012.

African States Asia-Pacific States Eastern European States Latin American &
Caribbean States 
Western European
& other States
Angola 2013 Bangladesh 2012 Czech Republic 2014 Chile 2014 Austria 2014
Benin 2014 China 2012 Hungary 2012 Costa Rica 2014 Belgium 2012
Botswana 2014 India 2014 Poland 2013 Cuba 2012 Italy 2014
Burkina Faso 2014 Indonesia 2014 Republic of Moldova 2013 Ecuador 2013 Norway 2012
Cameroon 2012 Jordan 2012 Romania 2014 Guatemala 2013 Spain 2013
Congo 2014 Kuwait 2014 Russian Federation 2012 Mexico 2012 Switzerland 2013
Djibouti 2012 Kyrgyzstan 2012   Peru 2014 United States 2012
Libya 2013 Malaysia 2013   Uruguay 2012  
Mauritania 2013 Maldives 2013      
Mauritius 2012 Qatar 2013      
Nigeria 2012 Philippines 2014      
Senegal 2012 Saudi Arabia
Uganda 2013 Thailand 2013      

Quick Links

Key Documents