Previous Chair and Members of the Permanent Forum 2014-2016

qqwMembers of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues for the term 2014-2016

The Permanent Forum is comprised of sixteen independent experts, functioning in their personal capacity, who serve for a term of three years as Members and may be re-elected or re-appointed for one additional term.
Eight of the Members are nominated by governments and eight are nominated directly by indigenous organizations in their regions.

The Members nominated by governments are elected by ECOSOC based on the five regional groupings of States normally used at the United Nations (Africa; Asia; Eastern Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Western Europe and Other States).

The Members nominated by indigenous organizations are appointed by the President of ECOSOC and represent the seven socio-cultural regions determined to give broad representation to the world’s indigenous peoples.
The regions are Africa; Asia; Central and South America and the Caribbean; the Arctic; Central and Eastern Europe, Russian Federation, Central Asia and Transcaucasia; North America; and the Pacific—with one additional rotating seat among the three first listed above. The rotating seat is taken by Asia during the 2014-2016 term.







Expert Members