General Assembly adopts Third Committee resolution on the rights of Indigenous Peoples – Year of Indigenous Language

Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 4.00.58 PMThe resolution on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (A/C.3/71/L.17/Rev.1) was adopted without a vote on 22 November 2016 at the Third Committee”s 55th Meeting. The negotiations were chaired by Bolivia (Plurinational State of) and Ecuador.

Co-sponsors are Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Australia,  Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Canada, Central African Republic,  Chad, Chile, Ecuador,  Guatemala,  Mexico, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay,  Peru, Honduras, Congo, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

To read the meeting coverage click here