1540 Committee
Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

  Points of Contact



Contact Information

African Union (AU)

Dr. Tarek A. Sharif
(Focal Point to the 1540 Committee, Head of the Defense and Security Division)

Tel:+251-11-551-3822 ext 4267
Email: sharift@africaunion.org

Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) Implementation Support Unit

Mr. Daniel Feakes
(Chief of the BWC Implementation Support Unit, United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs - Geneva Branch)

Tel: +41 (0)-22-917-2230
Fax: +41-(0)-22-917-0483
E-mail: dfeakes@unog.ch, bwc@unog.ch

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Division for Cooperation with International Organizations, Peacekeeping Measures and Conflict Prevention,
Department for Humanitarian Cooperation and General Political and Social Issues,
Executive Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States

Tel: +375-17-222-3667/ +375-17-222-3559
Fax: +375-17-327-2339

European Union (EU)

Political Section of the Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations

Tel: 212-401-0137 / 212-292-8610
Email: delegation-new-york-political@eeas.europa.eu

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Mr. Geoff Shaw
(Representative of the Director General to the United Nations and Director of the IAEA New York Office)


International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL)

Mr. Jeffrey S. Muller
(Assistance Director, CBRNE Sub-Directorate, Interpol General Secretariat)

Tel: +33-(0)-4-37-47-52-82
Email: j.muller@interpol.int

Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

Hon. Paddy Torsney
(Permanent Observer to the United Nations)

Tel: 212-557-5880
Email: pt@ipu.org

Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

Mr. Kenneth Aoki
(Senior Policy Officer, Office of Strategy and Policy)

Tel : +31-(0)-70-416-3076
Email: kenneth.aoki@opcw.org

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Conflict Prevention Centre of the OSCE


UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

Ms. Elena Rigacci-Hay
(Policy and Programme Coordinator, Terrorism Prevention Branch)

Ms. Maria Lorenzo-Sobrado
(Programme Officer and Focal Point for CBRN Terrorism, Terrorism Prevention Branch)


World Customs Organization (WCO)

Mr. James McColm
(Technical Officer, Programme Manager – Security/I2C, Compliance and Enforcement)

Tel: +32-2209-9640

Fax: +32-2209-9493
Email: james.mccolm@wcoomd.org

World Health Organization (WHO)

Dr. Guenael Rodier
(Director, Department of Global Capacities, Alert and Response)

Tel: +41-22 79 21 09
Email: rodierg@who.int

World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

Ms. Tianna Brand
(Chargéé de mission for Biological Threat Reduction, Scientific and Technical Department)

Tel: +33-1 44 15 19 67
Fax: +33-1 42 67 09 87
Email: t.brand@oie.int

Other 1540 Resources

International Instruments

News and Media

Resources for