For more information on other Non-Self-Governing Territories, you may select from the drop-down list below:

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Basic Facts

  • Population: Approximately 3,200
  • Land area: 12,173 km²

Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

The Falkland Islands (Malvinas)* has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the transmission by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of information under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations.**

  • See General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

Administering Power

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Nations-related action

The General Assembly’s subsidiary organ, the Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24), has been considering the question of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) since 1964. Following the C-24’s recommendation, in 1965, the General Assembly adopted resolution 2065 (XX). In recent years, the C-24 adopts on an annual basis a resolution devoted to the Falkland Islands (Malvinas). 

For the text of the most recent C-24 resolution, i.e. , C-24 resolution of 11 July 2018, see the annual report of the C-24 of 2018, A/73/23, para. 195. Past C-24 resolutions on the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) are contained in the respective annual report of the C-24.

 United Nations Secretariat annual working papers on Falkland Islands (Malvinas) issued since 2008 are also available on the Documents page.


Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

(Last updated: 10 May 2022)


*A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

**At the 25th meeting of the Fourth Committee in the 1st session of the General Assembly, held on 6 December 1946, the delegation of Argentina made a reservation to the effect that the Argentine government did not recognize British sovereignty in the Falkland Islands (Malvinas). The delegation of the United Kingdom made a parallel reservation, not recognizing Argentine sovereignty in these islands.