For more information on other Non-Self-Governing Territories, you may select from the drop-down list below:

American Samoa

Basic Facts

  • Population: 49,710 (2020 census)
  • Land area: 200 km²
  • Exclusive economic zone: 404,391 km²

Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

American Samoa has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the transmission of information by the United States of America under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations.

  • See General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

Administering Power

United States of America

United Nations-related action

The General Assembly adopts on an annual basis a resolution on American Samoa. Please visit the Documents page for past General Assembly resolutions on American Samoa from 2008..

United Nations Secretariat annual working papers on American Samoa issued since 2008 are also available on the Documents page.


Government of American Samoa

Office of Insular Affairs of the Department of Interior of the United States of America


(Last updated: 10 May 2022)