Special Committee on Decolonization

The Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples is also known as the Special Committee on Decolonization, or C-24. The C-24 was established in 1961 by the General Assembly (GA), as its subsidiary organ devoted to the issue of decolonization, pursuant to GA resolution 1654 (XVI) of 27 November 1961. 

C-24 mandate

In accordance with GA resolution 1654 (XVI), the C-24 was mandated to (i) examine the application of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples (GA resolution 1514 (XV) of 14 December 1960, hereafter referred to as the "Declaration") and (ii) to make suggestions and recommendations on the progress and extent of the implementation of the Declaration. The C-24 commenced its work in 1962.

The C-24 annually reviews the list of Non-Self-Governing Territories to which the Declaration is applicable. It also hears statements from representatives of the Non-Self-Governing Territories at its annual sessions, dispatches visiting missions to Non-Self-Governing Territories and annually organizes regional seminars.

C-24 membership and bureau

Currently, the C-24 consists of 29 members (see "Members" page for details). The officers of the C-24 are called the bureau which consists of the Chair, Vice-Chairs and Rapporteur. For more information on the C-24 bureau, see "Bureau" page

Infographic: Special Committee on Decolonization

Content simplified for visual purposes. To enlarge, click here.