(PGA's fellowship for Harnessing Opportunities for Promoting Empowerment of youth)

Overview

To promote youth engagement in multilateralism and support the next generation of diplomats, particularly from underrepresented countries at the United Nations, the President of the 76th Session of the General Assembly (PGA) has established the “PGA Fellowship for Harnessing Opportunities for Promoting Empowerment of Youth” (PGA Fellowship for HOPE).

The Fellowship will bring to New York a small group of young diplomats / civil servants from underrepresented countries at the United Nations, particularly from Least Developed Countries (LDCs), Landlocked Developing Countries (LLDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS), while also ensuring geographical representation and gender balance.

“This is a flagship initiative of the Presidency of Hope – one that is particularly close to my heart. I am a firm believer in the importance of engaging with youth and enhancing the role of youth at all levels of decision making. To invest in the future of multilateralism, we need to invest in our youth and bring them closer to the work of the UN.”

President Abdulla Shahid

mEET THE 2022 HOPE FELLOWS

Diedra (Grenada)

Jaala (Nauru)

Javier (Antigua and Barbuda)

Jigme (Bhutan)

Stella (Uganda)

Margaret (Zimbabwe)

Mohamed (Guinea)

Phongsavath (Lao PDR)

Training Schedule

Outside of the working component of the PGA Fellowship for HOPE, UNITAR will facilitate weekly training workshops every Friday on various themes pertaining to UN processes, working methodology, best practices, and the Agenda of the 76th General Assembly. Fellows will also be able to participate in relevant UNITAR training sessions (including hybrid course offerings) as they occur throughout the year. The following calendar details the tentative schedule and curriculum of the Fellowship programme. Course descriptions and facilitator biographies will be added as details are confirmed. UNITAR NYO will be responsible for providing the appropriate documentation and materials for each course. This information is subject to change based on OPGA preference and facilitator availability.

JAN 2022: 9 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 14 January 2022: Intro to General Assembly Procedures and the Role of OPGA, TBD facilitators from OPGA
Friday, 21 January 2022: Intro to ECOSOC, Security Council, & Principal Organs of the UN, Dr. Angel Angelov (VTC)
Friday, 28 January 2022: Multilateral Negotiations, Dr. Jimena Leiva-Roesch & Dr. Rebecca Webber Gaudiosi

FEB 2022: 12 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 4 February 2022: UN Protocol, Ms. Beatrix Kania
Friday, 11 February 2022: DGACM Work, Ms. Radhika Ochalik
Friday, 18 February 2022: Drafting Skills and Report Writing, Mr. Sandy Singer                                                                                                                   Friday, 25 February 2022: Climate Change – Kyoto to Paris, Prof. Narinder Kakar

MAR 2022: 12 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 4 March 2022: SDGs and the 2030 Agenda, Ms. Naiara Costa
Friday, 11 March 2022: Regional Organization, Regional Commissions, & Conflict Resolution, Dr. Angel Angelov
Friday, 18 March 2022: Democracy & Pillars of UN Work, Dr. Massimo Tommasoli
Friday, 25 March 2022: Peace & Security Issues, Ms. Jelena Pia-Comella

APR 2022: 15 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 1 April 2022: International Criminal Justice & Diplomacy, H.E. Dr. Yuriy Sergeyev (VTC)                                                                                      Friday, 8 April 2022: International Law and the Sixth Committee, H.E. Dr. Yuriy Sergeyev (VTC)                                                                                      Friday, 15 April 2022: UN Budgetary Processes and the Fifth Committee, Mr. Lionelito Berridge                                                                                    Friday, 22 April 2022: Disarmament, International Security and the First Committee, Ms. Sonia Elliott                                                                          Friday, 29 April 2022: UN Funds and Programmes, Ms. Holly White

MAY 2022: 12 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 6 May 2022: Drafting Resolutions, Mr. Larry Johnson
Friday, 13 May 2022: UN Elections, Mr. Kenji Nakano
Friday, 20 May 2022: Financing for Sustainable Development, TBD Rep. from Financing for Development Office
Friday, 27 May 2022: The Work of UN Resident Coordinators, TBD Rep. from DCO

JUN 2022: 12 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 3 June 2022: Science, Technology, and Innovation for Sustainable Development, Dr. Larisa Schelkin
Friday, 10 June 2022: Food Security, Ms. Carla Mucavi
Friday, 17 June 2022: The Situation in the Middle East, Dr. Angel Angelov                                                                                                                           Friday, 24 June 2022: The Peacebuilding Commission, Mr. Paolo Fontana

JUL 2022: 15 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 1 July 2022: WTO Processes, Ms. Cherise Valles
Friday, 8 July 2022: Refugees, Migration and the Global Compact on Migration, TBD Rep. from UNHCR                                                                       Friday, 15 July 2022: Human Rights, Mr. Nenad Vasic
Friday, 22 July 2022: Humanitarian Relief and Assistance, TBD Rep. from UNHCR
Friday, 29 July 2022: Oceans and the Law of the Sea, TBD Rep. from DOALOS, Mr. Peter Thompson

AUG 2022: 12 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 5 August 2022: Disaster Risk Reduction and Recovery, Ms. Toni-Shae Freckleton
Friday, 12 August 2022: International Crime Prevention and Drug Control, TBD Rep. from UNODC                                                                                 Friday, 19 August 2022: Global Environmental Outlook (GEO-6), Science Diplomacy and NASA Globe, Dr. Larisa Schelkin
Friday, 26 August 2022: UN Career Coaching, Ms. Holly White

SEP 2022: 3 COURSE HOURS

Friday, 2 September 2022: Networking and Personal Branding in the Diplomatic World, Ms. Michele Clark-Ceres

The Fellowship programme also includes:

• Week-long trip to Geneva, Switzerland (timing TBD) *Under the auspices of the Swiss government. OPGA will be responsible for the coordination of this component of the programme.

Contributions
Sep 2021 Government of the State of Qatar $100,000
Sep 2021 Government of the Republic of Italy $25,000
Sep 2021 Government of the State of Kuwait $75000
Nov 2021 Government of the People’s Republic of China $100,000
Dec 2021 Government of the Slovak Republic $33,900
Dec 2021 Government of the Portuguese Republic $8,450
Dec 2021 Government of the Republic of Turkey $22,000
Dec 2021 Government of Japan $26,244
Dec 2021  (Agreement signed)  European Union $406,890
May 2022  Government of Brunei Darussalam $50, 000