预防和复原力

预防和复原力 2017-12-06T19:41:22+00:00

预防和复原力

武装冲突和自然灾害给人类造成了巨大痛苦和惨重损失。为应对大规模的复杂挑战,实现不让任何一个人掉队的全球承诺,必须解决当前和新出现危机的根本原因,防止危机再度发生,并加强最弱势群体的复原力。

过渡到可持续和平

人的安全办法以人为本,以他们面临的最紧迫问题为核心,鼓励根据当地的需求、脆弱性和能力制订国际对策,目的是确保联合国系统和其他行为体采取的行动能解决冲突的根本动因,恢复信任和信心,减少不平等现象,加强国家与社会的关系。这一办法推动建立具有包容性的建设和平架构,加强人民对政治进程和机构的信心,以最大限度地减少社会重陷冲突的可能性。

将当前对策与长期结果联系起来

人的生存、生计和尊严面临的威胁极少是单一性的。相反,它们是各种因素共同作用的结果,其导致的局面往往是复杂和多层面的,需要救济、恢复和发展工作者携手努力,避免采取协调松散、本质上各自为政的解决办法。认识到在应对危机之外开展其他活动更有可能带来长期可持续成果,侧重人的安全办法强调需要在结构、体制和行为上做出改变,推动从提供援助转向消除需求。

将人的安全办法付诸实践

联合国人的安全信托基金的很大一部分供资用于支持在刚刚摆脱冲突和自然灾害的国家或陷于脆弱局面的国家开展方案。这些方案采取多部门办法,推进可持续的解决方案。它们致力恢复人们对集体行动的信心,加强公民安全,改善提供和获得基本社会服务的机会,恢复生计和促进社区和解。 这些方案一致表明,在应对紧迫危机之外开展其他活动更有可能带来长期的预防和复原力。

聚焦

刚果共和国:联合开展联合国方案,在刚果共和国巩固和平、防止冲突、加强人的安全

主题领域:预防和恢复力
一个穿着蓝色连衣裙的年轻女子站在一个咖啡种植园里,她抱着一个身穿灰色衣服的幼儿。他们身后有一棵大树。

该方案旨在促进巩固和平与社会稳定,为脆弱的人群提供可持续的生计,并提高刚果共和国人的安全的总体水平。

为了巩固和平,防止未来重新陷入冲突,普尔地区亟需采取协调一致办法解决燃眉之急,同时恢复基本服务并重建破裂社区之间的信任和团结。为此,人的安全信托基金方案汇集了多个不同的利益攸关方,采取更全面和协调一致的对策确保稳定和恢复。该方案综合各种努力,以增加创收,帮助前战斗人员重返社会,改善获得医疗保健等基本服务的途径,重建教育设施,并促进和平与和解文化,为建设一个和平、有韧性的社会铺平道路。

Prevention and Resilience

>Prevention and Resilience
Prevention and Resilience 2018-05-31T16:51:48+00:00

PREVENTION AND RESILIENCE

Armed conflicts and natural disasters have taken a staggering toll in human suffering. Addressing the scale and complexity of these challenges, and making good on the global promise to leave no one behind, depends on addressing the root causes of current and emerging crises, preventing their re-occurrence, and strengthening the resilience of those most vulnerable.

THE TRANSITION TO SUSTAINABLE PEACE

Centred on people and the most pressing concerns they face, human security encourages better alignment of international responses to local needs, vulnerabilities and capacities, and aims to ensure that actions taken by the UN system and others address the underlying drivers of conflicts, restore trust and confidence, reduce inequalities, and strengthen State-society relations. Such an approach advances an inclusive peacebuilding architecture that reinforces people’s confidence in the political process and the institutions that together minimize the space in which societies may relapse into conflict.

CONNECTING IMMEDIATE RESPONSES TO LONG-TERM RESULTS

Threats to people’s survival, livelihood and dignity are seldom singular in nature. Rather, a mix of factors come together to generate situations that are often complex and multidimensional, requiring those responsible for relief, rehabilitation and development to come together and avoid loosely coordinated but essentially compartmentalized solutions. Premised on the recognition that long-term sustainable results are more likely to be generated by activities that go beyond crisis response, a focus on human security highlights the structural, institutional and behavioural changes that are needed to move the world from delivering aid to ending need.

HUMAN SECURITY IN PRACTICE

A significant portion of UN Trust Fund for Human Security (UNTFHS) funding has supported programmes in countries emerging from conflict and natural disasters, or experiencing fragility. These programmes have taken a multi-sectoral approach with a view towards advancing sustainable solutions. They have focused on restoring people’s confidence in collective action, strengthening citizen security, improving the delivery of and access to basic social services, reinstating livelihoods and promoting community reconciliation. Programmes have consistently shown that long-term prevention and resilience is more likely to be generated by activities that go beyond responding to an immediate crisis.

Highlighted Story

Republic of Congo: Joint UN programme for the consolidation of peace, prevention of conflicts and enhancement of human security in the Republic of Congo

A young woman in a blue dress stands in a coffee plantation with her infant child who is dressed in a grey shirt. There is a large tree behind them.
The programme sought to contribute to the consolidation of peace and social stability, provide sustainable livelihoods to vulnerable populations, and enhance the overall level of human security in the Pool region of the Republic of Congo.

To consolidate peace and prevent future relapse into conflict, a coherent approach that addressed immediate needs, while restoring basic services and rebuilding trust and cohesion among fractured communities was urgently needed in the Pool region. To this end, the UNTFHS programme brought together a range of stakeholders to ensure a more comprehensive and coordinated response to stabilization and recovery. The programme combined efforts to enhance income-generation, reintegrate ex-combatants, improve access to basic services including healthcare, re-establish education facilities, and promote a culture of peace and reconciliation, helping to pave the way towards a peaceful and resilient society.