قضية فلسطين والجمعية العامة

Empty GA Hall

قاعة الجمعية العامة. ©/ صوفيا باريس

إن الجمعية العامة هي الهيئة التداولية الرئيسية للأمم المتحدة، وهي تضم ممثلي جميع الدول الأعضاء. وقد عُرضت قضية فلسطين لأول مرة على الجمعية العامة في عام 1947. وفي القرار 181 (د-2)، قررت الجمعية تقسيم فلسطين إلى دولتين، دولة عربية وأخرى يهودية، مع الاحتفاظ بمركز دولي خاص للقدس. وبعد حرب سنة 1948، أنشأت الجمعية بموجب القرار 194 (د-3) لعام 1949 لجنة التوفيق الخاصة بفلسطين لمساعدة الطرفين على التوصل إلى تسوية نهائية، مع إعادة تأكيد حقوق اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في العودة وفي استرداد ممتلكاتهم. وفي العام نفسه، أنشأت الجمعية العامة الأونروا، وهي وكالة معنية باللاجئين الفلسطينيين.

وفي عام 1974، أعيد إدراج قضية فلسطين في جدول أعمال الجمعية. وأكد القرار 3236 (د-29) من جديد حقوق الشعب الفلسطيني غير القابلة للتصرف في تقرير المصير والاستقلال والسيادة الوطنيين، وحق الفلسطينيين في العودة إلى ديارهم وممتلكاتهم. وفي عام 1975، أنشأت الجمعية العامة اللجنة المعنية بممارسة الشعب الفلسطيني لحقوقه غير القابلة للتصرف. وكانت قضية فلسطين والمسائل المتصلة بها موضوع العديد من القرارات والمقررات التي اعتمدتها الجمعية العامة في دوراتها العادية والاستثنائية والطارئة.

وفي 29 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر ٢٠١٢، منحت الجمعية العامة فلسطين مركز دولة غير عضو لها صفة المراقب في الأمم المتحدة. وتشمل المسائل ذات الصلة المدرجة في جدول أعمال الجمعية وهيئاتها الفرعية، مثل مجلس حقوق الإنسان، حق الفلسطينيين في تقرير المصير، وسيادتهم على مواردهم الطبيعية، والمساعدة، واللاجئين، والنازحين داخليا، والأونروا، وحقوق الإنسان، والمستوطنات الإسرائيلية، والتسوية السلمية لقضية فلسطين، والقدس، وغيرها.

The Question of Palestine and the General Assembly

Empty GA Hall

A general view of the General Assembly Hall. UN Photo/Sophia Paris

The General Assembly is the main deliberative organ of the United Nations, composed of representatives of all Member States.  The question of Palestine was first brought before the General Assembly in 1947. By resolution 181 (II), the Assembly decided to partition Palestine into two states, one Arab and one Jewish, with Jerusalem placed under a special international regime. After the 1948 war, the Assembly by resolution 194 (III) of 1949 established the Conciliation Commission for Palestine (UNCCP) to help the parties reach a final settlement, while reaffirming the rights of Palestine refugees to return and restitution. UNRWA, a Palestine refugee agency, was established by the Assembly the same year.

In 1974, the question of Palestine was re-introduced in the Assembly’s agenda. Resolution 3236 (XXIX) reaffirmed the inalienable rights of the Palestinian people to self-determination, national independence and sovereignty, and the right of the Palestinians to return to their homes and property. In 1975, the Assembly established the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People. The question of Palestine and related issues have been the subject of numerous resolutions and decisions adopted by the Assembly’s regular, special and emergency sessions.

On 29 November 2012 the Assembly granted Palestine non-member observer State status in the UN. The relevant issues on the agenda of the Assembly and its subsidiary organs, such as the Human Rights Council include the right of Palestinians to self-determination, their sovereignty over natural resources, assistance, refugees, IDPs, UNRWA, human rights, Israeli settlements, peaceful settlement of the question of Palestine, and Jerusalem, among others.

For GA Resolutions voting records, please click here to search

GA’s Resolutions on Question of Palestine

Date Title Document Type symbol Source subject
June 13, 2018 Protection of the Palestinian Civilian Population – GA 10th Emergency Special Session – Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/ES-10/20 General Assembly, General Assembly 10th Emergency Special Session
June 11, 2018 Protection of the Palestinian Civilian Population – GA 10th Emergency Special Session – Draft Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, Draft resolution, French text, General Assembly draft resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/ES-10/L.23 General Assembly, General Assembly 10th Emergency Special Session
March 28, 2018 Compilation of Resolutions and Decisions Adopted in 2017 (English and French) – DPR publication – A/AC.183/L.2/Add.39 Compilation, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Security Council Resolution, Voting record Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People (CEIRPP), Division for Palestinian Rights (DPR), Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), General Assembly, Human Rights Council, Security Council
March 23, 2018 Israeli Settlements in OPT and Occupied Syrian Golan – HRC 37th Session – Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/HRC/RES/37/36 General Assembly, Human Rights Council
March 23, 2018 Ensuring Accountability and Justice for All Violations of International Law in OPT, Including East Jerusalem – HRC 37th Session – Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/HRC/RES/37/37 General Assembly, Human Rights Council
December 21, 2017 Jerusalem – GA 10th Emergency Special Session – Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/ES-10/19 General Assembly, General Assembly 10th Emergency Special Session
December 20, 2017 Permanent Sovereignty Over Natural Resources in OPT and Golan – GA Resolution, 20 Dec 2017 Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/72/240 General Assembly, Second Committee (Economic and Financial), United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
December 19, 2017 Right of the Palestinian People to Self-determination – GA Resolution, 19 Dec 2017 Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/72/160 General Assembly, Third Committee (Social Humanitarian and Cultural)
December 11, 2017 Assistance to Palestinian People – GA Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/72/134 General Assembly
December 7, 2017 Work of Special Committee to Investigate Israeli Practices – GA Resolution Arabic text, Chinese text, French text, General Assembly resolution, Resolution, Russian text, Spanish text A/RES/72/84 General Assembly, Special Committee to Investigate Israeli Practices, Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee)

More documents