The inaugural UNESCO-Al Fozan International Prize for the Promotion of Young Scientists in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) aims to strengthen STEM research, STEM education and international cooperation to confront the global challenges addressed by the Sustainable Development Goals. The prize is awarded every two years to five laureates from the five geographic regions of UNESCO and consists of a $50,000 award, medal and diploma. 



The Prize is awarded to candidates shall have earned recognition for their significant achievement/contribution to:

  • Research in the STEM including the emerging technologies or;
  • STEM education, dissemination of research findings, as well as creativity and innovation or;
  • International or regional cooperation in STEM.

Candidates must be less than 40 years old at the time of the application deadline.

Young women scientists are encouraged to apply. 


Candidates for the UNESCO-Al Fozan International Prize need to be nominated by one of the following entities: 

  • Governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions
  • Non-governmental organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO and active in relevant fields covered by the Prize
  • UNESCO Chairs
  • Category 2 Centres
  • International scientific unions
  • Universities

The nomination form must be submitted in English and needs to be accompanied by a written recommendation that includes the following:

  • a description of the candidate’s background and achievements
  • a summary of the work, publications and other supporting documents of major importance, submitted for consideration
  • a description of the candidate’s contribution to the Prize’s objectives.

Prize Details: 

The UNESCO-Al Fozan Foundation Prize consists of an award of US $50,000 for each of the five laurates and a medal and diploma. 

Deadline: 15 November 2022

For more information