AIMS Regional Support

From capacity building, policy advice, boosting competitiveness, partnerships and strengthening business opportunities, the following regional organisations provide private sector support in the Atlantic, Indian Ocean and South China Sea (AIMS) region.


The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) is an intergovernmental organization which brings together five countries in the Indian Ocean region. Union of Comoros, France / Reunion, Madagascar, Mauritius and Seychelles. The IOC works towards strengthening relations among its Members States including in areas related to sustainable development from environmental protection to social and economic development.

The Union of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of the Indian Ocean (UCCIOI) was set up in 2005 to promote the interests of the private sector at the regional level and represents the Chambers of Commerce of Mauritius, Reunion, Malagasy, Comoros, Mayotte and Seychelles.

Vanilla Islands is an organization between the affiliated island states of Comoros, Mauritius, Madagascar, La Reunion, Seychelles Maldives and Mayotte. Under the aegis of the Indian Ocean Commission, it aims to unify the islands under one tourism brand, increase connectivity to and intra islands, create new multi-destination products and attract more visitors to the Indian Ocean region as a whole.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) are to achieve economic development, peace and security, and growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through Regional Integration. These objectives are to be achieved through increased Regional Integration, built on democratic principles, and equitable and sustainable development.

The Regional Investment Authority (RIA) is an institution of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) which was launched in 2006 in line with COMESA’s ultimate objective to create a fully integrated, internationally competitive and unified regional economic community in which goods, services, capital and persons move freely through increased trade and investment integration.

The African Development Bank Group (AfDB) is an international financial institution created to promote the economic and social development of its African member countries which includes a number of small island developing States. The AfDB includes the African Development Bank (ADB), the African Development Fund (ADF), the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF), and the Private Sector Department (PSD).