Serving 91 Vulnerable Member States of the United Nations

The United Nations Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS) supports groups of vulnerable countries in the United Nations System.


The 46 Least Developed Countries, 32 Landlocked Developing Countries and 38 Small Island Developing States have their own special challenges.

United Nations and Commonwealth Join Forces to Solidify Global Solidarity for Small States

With a looming debt crisis driven by the COVID-19 pandemic on top of a raging climate emergency, the world’s small island developing States (SIDS) need urgent global support if they are to have any realistic chance of achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by 2030.

Read More

Least Developed

Least Developed Countries (LDCs) represent the poorest and most vulnerable segment of the international community.

Landlocked Developing

Landlocked Developing Countries (LLDCs) face challenges due to their remoteness, lack of territorial access to the sea and significant distance from world markets.

Small Island
Developing States

Small Island Developing States (SIDS) are remote from world markets and suffer from climate change and fragile natural environments.