Action on Third Committee Texts Also Covers Social Development,

Drug Control, Refugees, Women's Issues, Human Rights Violations

The General Assembly this morning endorsed three major United Nations events by adopting resolutions on the  recommendation of its Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian  and Cultural).   By those resolutions, a Convention against Transnational Organized Crime will be finalized in 2000 and signed at a high-level conference in Palermo during the millennium session; a special session of the General Assembly will be held in spring 2000 on gender equality; and a world conference  against racism  will be  held in 2001, with the entire year proclaimed the International Year of  mobilizing against racism and related intolerance.

The texts were among 70 adopted by the Assembly on the Committee's recommendation.    They were contained in 12 reports submitted by the Committee on social development; crime prevention; drug control; women's advancement; refugees; children's rights; the International Decade of Indigenous Peoples; elimination of racism; the right of  self-determination; and human rights questions.


Three texts were adopted on issues related to self-determination.  By a resolution on  the right to self-determination itself, adopted without a vote, the Assembly declared its firm opposition to acts of foreign military intervention, aggression and occupation.  Deploring the plight of millions of refugees and displaced persons uprooted as a  result of such actions, the Assembly called for States to immediately cease such actions.


A further resolution, adopted by a recorded vote of 156 in favour to 2 against (Israel, United States), with 1 abstention (Georgia), urged the international community to  support and assist the Palestinian people in their quest for self-determination.  (See Annex II.)


Right of Self-determination

The Committee's report on the right of peoples to self-determination (document A/54/604) contains three drafts.


Draft III in the report, on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination,  was approved by the Committee on 4 November with a recorded vote of 119 in favour to 2 against (Israel and the United States), with two abstentions (Uganda and Uruguay).  The text would have the Assembly would urge the international community to support and assist the Palestinian people in their quest for self-determination.


Resolution III on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination was  adopted by a recorded vote of 156 in favour to two against (United States and Israel) with  one abstention (Georgia).  (See Annex II.)




Vote on right of Palestinian people to self-determination

The draft resolution on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination (Draft resolution III in document A/54/604) was adopted by a recorded vote of 156 in favour to 2 against, with 1 abstention, as follows:

In  favour:   Afghanistan, Albania,  Algeria,  Andorra, Angola,  Antigua and
Barbuda,  Argentina,  Armenia,  Australia,   Austria,  Azerbaijan,  Bahamas,
Bahrain,  Bangladesh, Barbados,  Belarus,  Belgium, Belize,  Benin,  Bhutan,
Bolivia,  Bosnia  and  Herzegovina,  Botswana,  Brazil,  Brunei  Darussalam,
Bulgaria,  Burkina  Faso, Cambodia,  Cameroon,  Canada,  Cape  Verde,  Chad,
Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa  Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia,
Cuba,  Cyprus,  Czech  Republic,  Democratic  People's  Republic  of  Korea,
Democratic  Republic of  the Congo,  Denmark, Djibouti,  Dominica,  Ecuador,
Egypt,  El Salvador,  Eritrea, Estonia,  Ethiopia, Finland,  France,  Gabon,
Germany,  Ghana,  Greece, Grenada,  Guinea,  Guinea-Bissau,  Guyana,  Haiti,
Honduras,  Hungary,  Iceland,   India,  Indonesia,  Iran,   Ireland,  Italy,
Jamaica, Japan, Jordan,  Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lao People's  Democratic
Republic,  Latvia,  Lebanon,  Libya,  Liechtenstein, Lithuania,  Luxembourg,
Malawi,   Malaysia,  Maldives,  Mali,   Malta,  Mauritius,  Mexico,  Monaco,
Mongolia,  Morocco, Mozambique,  Myanmar, Namibia,  Nepal,  Netherlands, New
Zealand,  Nigeria,  Norway,  Oman,  Pakistan,  Panama,  Papua  New   Guinea,
Paraguay, Peru,  Philippines, Poland,  Portugal, Qatar,  Republic of  Korea,
Republic of Moldova,  Romania, Russian  Federation, Saint Lucia, Samoa,  San
Marino,  Saudi  Arabia,   Senegal,  Seychelles,  Sierra  Leone,   Singapore,
Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain,  Sri Lanka, Sudan,
Suriname,   Swaziland,  Sweden,  Syria,  Tajikistan,  Thailand,  The  former
Yugoslav Republic  of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey,
Uganda,  Ukraine, United Arab  Emirates, United  Kingdom, United Republic of
Tanzania,  Uruguay,   Uzbekistan,  Venezuela,  Viet   Nam,  Yemen,   Zambia,

Against:  Israel, United States.

Abstain:  Georgia.

Absent:    Dominican  Republic,  Equatorial  Guinea,  Federated  States   of
Micronesia,  Fiji,   Gambia,  Guatemala,   Kiribati,  Lesotho,   Madagascar,
Marshall Islands, Nauru,  Nicaragua, Palau, Rwanda,  Saint Kitts  and Nevis,
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga, Turkmenistan.


* *** *




Document symbol: GA/9690
Document Type: Press Release
Document Sources: General Assembly
Subject: Human rights and international humanitarian law
Publication Date: 17/12/1999