United Nations Headquarters, New York, 18 June 2020 –The second round of balloting to fill the non-permanent seat of the Security Council allocated to African States, was held today in the General Assembly Hall, in accordance with decision 74/755 of 29 May 2020, entitled, “Procedure for holding elections by secret ballot without a plenary meeting during the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic”.

The additional round was required after Djibouti and Kenya did not obtain the required two-thirds majority in the elections held on 17 June.

At the completion of balloting, Kenya, having obtained the required two-thirds majority of Member States present and voting and the greatest number of votes, was elected as a member of the Security Council for a 2-year term beginning on 1 January 2021.

This concludes the elections, which started on 17 June to elect the President of the 75th session of the General Assembly, non-permanent members of the Security Council and members of the Economic and Social Council.

The President of the General Assembly Tijjani Muhammad-Bande oversaw the proceedings in the Assembly Hall on both days.

Click here for more information.


For media inquiries, please contact:

Reem Abaza, Spokesperson for the President of the General Assembly,