The Ombudsman is here to help!

During the unprecedented health crisis, we, at the Office of the UN Ombudsman and Mediation Services, are continuing to serve UN employees worldwide by offering our services to all employees remotely, regardless of duty station or time zone.

Based on our recent interactions with visitors and questions received during the live session, we are sharing with you some Tips for working well during the COVID-19 pandemic as well as responses to questions about our work and services . Through it all, we’re here to help.

Should you have any questions, concerns, difficult work-related decision to make, please rest assured that an ombudsman is always available to you by telephone, email, MS Teams, Signal, etc. in any of the UN official languages. Don't wait: contact us today!

Global Inquiries

  • unoms@un.org
    (case-related inquiries)
  • Tel: (+1) 917-367-5731
Map of the world showing our 8 regional offices, with a link to a detailed directory

Regional Ombudsman's Offices

Bangkok

Ms. Susan John, Regional Ombudsman
ESCAP, United Nations Building
Ground floor, UNCC
Rajadamnern Nok Avenue
Bangkok 10200 Thailand
Email: john5@un.org
Tel: (+66) 2-288-1276

Nairobi

Mr. Youssoupha Niang, Regional Ombudsman and Coordinator
UN Avenue, Gigiri, X-level 2 East Wing Rm 225
P.O. Box 67578-00200
Nairobi, Kenya
Email: niangy@un.org
Tel: (+254) 20-762-6714

Entebbe

Ms. Selome Yifru, Regional Ombudsman
United Nations Entebbe Support Base
Old Airport Road
Entebbe, Uganda
Email: yifru@un.org
Tel: +256-20-054-3000, Ext. 198-4090

New York

Ms. Lara Khalife Dagher, Regional Ombudsman
2 UN Plaza, 7th floor
New York, NY 10017, USA
Email: khalife@un.org
Tel: (+1) 917-367-5731

Geneva

Mr. Nicholas Theotocatos, Regional Ombudsman
Villa les Feuillantines, Room 13
Palais des Nations
1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland
Email: nicholas.theotocatos@un.org
Tel: (+41) 22-917-3760

Santiago

Ms. María Montiel, Conflict Resolution Officer
ECLAC Headquarters
Av. Dag Hammarskjöld 3477
7630412 Vitacura, Santiago, Chile
Email: montiel@un.org
Tel: (+1) 917-367-5731

Goma

Mr. Salif Boïté, Conflict Resolution Officer
MONUSCO “Camp Bravo”
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)
Email: boite@un.org
Tel: (+243) 818-907-136, Ext. 195-8445

Vienna

Mr. Gang Li, Regional Ombudsman
Wagramer Strasse 5
Vienna International Center
Room C-0326 - 03229
1220 Vienna, Austria
Email: gang.li@un.org
Tel: (+43) 1-260-60-5720

Mediation Services & Capacity Building

Ms. Deborah Mendez, Director of Mediation
2 UN Plaza, 7th floor
New York, NY 10017, USA
Email: mendezd@un.org
Tel: (+1) 212-963-3493

Mr. Robert Edelmann, Mediation & Capacity Building
2 UN Plaza, 7th floor
New York, NY 10017, USA
Email: edelmann@un.org
Tel: (+1) 212-963-3823