As long as poverty, injustice and gross inequality persist in our world, none of us can truly rest.
- Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela Prize

Call for Nominations

Press Release — United Nations Calls for Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela Prize Nominations
Nominations — Click here to nominate an individual for the 2020 Nelson Mandela Prize
* Submissions deadline — 28 February 2020 *

The United Nations Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela Prize aims to recognize the achievements of those who dedicated their lives to the service of humanity as guided by the purposes and principles of the UN, while honouring and paying homage to Mandela's extraordinary life and legacy of reconciliation, political transition and social transformation. It is awarded every five years and was first awarded in 2015.

The Prize shall be awarded to acknowledge this service to humanity in the promotion of reconciliation and social cohesion, and in community development.

No current staff member of any organization of the United Nations system shall be eligible for the Prize.

Please refer to the Statute of the United Nations Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela Prize for nominee eligibility criteria, and for further important information on the selection and process.