أيقونة الأمم المتحدةمرحبا بكم في الأمم المتحدة. أنها عالمكم!

* بالانكليزية

الرجاء ملاحظة أن جميع الملفات بصيغة الـ ‏PDF ‏ تفتح في نوافذ مستقلة

 

الرئيسية

كسر حاجز الصمت بشأن التغوط في العراء

❞ تأثرت كثيرا أن هناك طفل يموت كل دقيقتين ونصف بسبب الأمراض المرتبطة بالتغوط في العراء. هذا هو الموت الصامت – الذي لا تتحدث عنه وسائل الإعلام، وليس موضوع للنقاش العام.لا يمكن أن نصمت أكثر.❝
نائب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ، يان إلياسون (أيار/مايو 2014)

دشن نائب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ، يان الياسون، حملة جديدة بوصفها جزء من دعوته إلى العمل على الصرف الصحي لكسر حاجز الصمت بشأن التغوط في العراء وتحفيز الحوار والعمل على أقل أهداف الإنمائية للألفية في الحصول على الدعم.

القضاء على التغوط في العراء


أحرزت الأمم المتحدة تقدما كبيرا نحو تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية و الحد من عدد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في فقر مدقع. ولكن هناك 2.5 مليار شخص لم يزلوا يفتقرون إلى المرافق الصحية. ويؤدي غياب المرافق الصحية الى الكثير من النتائج السلبية التي تؤثر على صحة الإنسان وتقلل من أمنه وتمتعه ببيئة نظيفة، كما أنها تحد من نموه الاجتماعي والاقتصادي. ويتغوط أكثر من بليون شخص في العراء- وهي واحدة من أوضح مظاهر الفقر المدقع .

يتسبب غياب خدمات الصرف الصحي المحسنة في وفاة طفل كل دقيقتين ونصف بسبب أمراض الإسهال التي يمكن الوقاية منها بسهولة. ويتأثر المستضعفون من الناس بشكل خاص من آثار غياب خدمة الصرف الصحي، من مثل ذوي الإعاقة والنساء اللواتي هن أكثر عرضة للعنف الجنسي. كما يعتبر إفتقار المدارس للمراحيض المخصصة للنساء سببا رئيسيا في عدم إتمام الفتيات لتعليمهن بمجرد بلوغهن. وينجم عن سوء الصرف الصحي وخدمات إمدادات المياه كذلك خسائر اقتصادية تُقدّر بنحو 260 مليار دولار سنوياً في البلدان النامية.


واعترافا بأن التقدم في مجال الصرف الصحي أمر ضروري لمكافحة الفقر وتحقيق جميع الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية ومع إقتراب عام 2015، يدشن نائب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة يان إلياسون، نيابة عن الأمين العام ، حملة جديدة لدفع التقدم في الأهداف المعنية بمجال الصرف الصحي والمياه ووضع حد لممارسة التغوط في العراء بحلول عام 2025.

وتستمد المبادرة قوتها من التزام الدول الأعضاء بالعمل من أجل حملة المرافق الصحية والمياه للجميع والتي دعمت من الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في عام 2013 .

وتهدف الحملة إلى رفع مستوى الوعي بشأن التغوط في العراء في مناطق العالم التي لا تعاني من هذه المسألة، والتي لاتعرف الكثير عن هذه المشكلة أو أسبابها، وهذا هو أحد أسباب إهمال القضية. وتحث حملة "ابحث التغوط في العراء" الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في أماكن لا تعاني من هذه المشكلة على الاستزادة بالمعلومات المتعلقة بالقضية.


في ظروف أخرى، التغوط في العراء واقع يومي لملايين من الناس، ولكنه يعد من المحرمات التي لا تحظى بشعبية ولا يتحدث عنه الناس. ومع ذلك، هناك مجموعات كثيرة تتخذ خطوات ايجابية، من بينها عدد من الحكومات الوطنية. وتهدف الحملة إلى تشجيع الحوار المحادثة، وكسر حاجز الصمت ، والاحتفال بالجهود المبذولة .

لمزيد من المعلومات واطلع على الموقع الالكتروني للحملة: opendefecation.org

المزيد من الموارد

-->
United Nations iconWelcome to the United Nations. It's your world!

  • ERADICATE EXTREME POVERTY AND HUNGER
  • ACHIEVE UNIVERSAL PRIMARY EDUCATION
  • PROMOTE GENDER EQUALITY AND EMPOWER WOMEN
  • REDUCE CHILD MORTALITY
  • IMPROVE MATERNAL HEALTH
  • COMBAT HIV/AIDS, MALARIA AND OTHER DISEASES
  • ENSURE ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY
  • DEVELOP A GLOBAL PARTNERSHIP FOR DEVELOPMENT

MDG Advocacy Group MDG Momentum

Youtube Twitter Facebook

Disclaimer


Breaking the silence on open defecation

"I am moved by the fact that a child dies every 2 and a half minutes from diseases linked to open defecation. Those are silent deaths – not reported on in the media, not the subject of public debate. Let's not remain silent any longer"


UN Deputy Secretary-General, Jan Eliasson (May 2014)

As part of his Call to Action on Sanitation, the UN Deputy Secretary-General, Jan Eliasson, is launching a new campaign to break silence on open defecation and spur dialogue and action on the most lacking target of the MDGs.

 

End Open defecation logo

 

Under the UN leadership, considerable progress has been made towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals and reducing the number of people living in extreme poverty. But one third of humanity (2.5 billion people) still does not have access to proper sanitation, including toilets or latrines, with dramatic consequences on human health, dignity and security, the environment, and social and economic development. Over one billion people worldwide practice open defecation, one of the clearest manifestations of extreme poverty.

 

The lack of improved sanitation largely contributes to the fact that a child dies every 2 and a half minute from preventable diarrhoeal diseases. It also impacts vulnerable populations such as persons with disabilities and women, who are more exposed to sexual violence. Lack of private toilets in schools is a major reason why girls do not continue their education once they enter puberty. Poor sanitation and water supply also result in economic losses estimated at $260 billion annually in developing countries.


Recognizing that greater progress on sanitation is essential for fighting poverty and for achieving all the MDGs, UN Deputy Secretary‐General Jan Eliasson is initiating, on behalf of the Secretary‐General, a renewed effort to drive progress on sanitation and water goals as we head towards 2015 and end the practice of open defecation by 2025.

 

The initiative builds on the strong commitment already made by UN Member States to take action for sanitation for all endorsed by the UN General Assembly in 2013.

 

The campaign aims at raising awareness on the reality of open defecation. In parts of the world where open defecation is not an issue, the fact that the issue is so poorly understood or even known is seen as a reason why the issue is not getting the attention and the response it deserves. In such places, the campaign urges people to “Search Open Defecation” and find out more about the issue.


In other circumstances, open defecation is known about and a daily reality for millions of people, but may be a taboo or unpopular topic of conversation. Nonetheless, there are many groups, including a number of national governments, who are taking action. The campaign will aim to spur the conversation, break the silence, and celebrate the efforts undertaken.

 

For more information and view the full campaign please visit: opendefecation.org

Additional Resources

Many groups within and beyond the UN system are working to tackle the sanitation crisis, and support the DSG’s Call to Action, amongst which are:

 

Join the Call to Action on Sanitation