秘书长技术问题特使办公室

        2019年6月,联合国秘书长数字合作高级别小组题为《相互依存的数字时代》的报告提出了未来任命一名技术事务特使在协助加强数字合作发挥潜在作用的设想。

        报告指出,该特使“可以洞察那些未来可能出现的、需要通过改善合作或治理加以解决的问题;为各利益攸关方行为体提供一定的协调,以解决共同关切的问题;加强在具有相关任务规定的论坛上制定的原则和规范;与联合国会员国、公民社会和企业合作,支持遵守既定规范”。

        根据专家小组的设想,特使可以发挥的其他作用包括“协调联合国各机构与数字技术有关的工作;加强联合国内技术专家之间的沟通与协作;就新技术问题向联合国秘书长提供建议。最终,特使可以促进旨在建立和维护国际数字共同资源的伙伴关系,这些资源可用来帮助实现[可持续发展目标]”。

        联合国秘书长《数字合作路线图》作为对高级别小组报告的回应,阐述了秘书长的愿景,并指出“联合国已准备好作为各利益攸关方就新兴技术进行政策对话的平台”。

        为了推动这一对话,秘书长将任命一名技术问题特使,“其作用是就技术方面的主要趋势向联合国高级领导层提供咨询建议,以指导联合国系统对这些问题所应采取的战略方针。特使还将担任数字合作的倡导者和协调人,作为成为会员国、技术领域、民间社会和其他利益攸关方联系整个联合国系统的桥头堡”。

        2020年9月21日通过的《纪念联合国成立75周年宣言》(大会第75/1号决议)中,会员国认识到技术作为根本性全球问题的重要性,并承诺“推进数字合作”以最大限度利用数字技术带来的好处,同时管控其风险。会员国认为,“联合国能够为所有利益攸关方提供一个参与协商的平台”。

      根据《75周年宣言》制定的秘书长《共同议程》将线上空间作为优先事项,并强调要“保护线上空间加强网络治理”;建议通过多利益攸关方模式制定一项全球数字契约,从而规划一个开放、自由、安全的共同数字未来行为准则。

        因此,技术事务特使办公室致力于以开放、包容和多利益攸关方模式开展工作,这是秘书长数字合作高级别小组以及秘书长《数字合作路线图》的制定和执行工作过程中的重要特征,也是全球数字契约的基础。

        技术事务特使办公室还与联合国所有机构密切合作,确保协同增效和避免工作重复,参与机构间和联合国系统进程,并与正在进行的多边和国际进程和论坛、特别是互联网治理论坛开展协作。

        根据秘书长《数字合作路线图》中概述的责任领域,秘书长技术问题特使办公室侧重于以下关键领域:

  • 领导执行秘书长《数字合作路线图》,协调《数字合作路线图》中设想的一系列行动,并与联合国各实体和多方利益攸关方团体密切合作,以确保全面协调一致,充分尊重联合国不同机构的任务。
  • 就《数字合作路线图》中关于促进全球数字合作的建议进行对话,抓住技术带来的机遇,同时降低风险,以确保在2030年实现可持续发展目标方面取得共同进展。
  • 担任数字合作的倡导者和协调人,以成为会员国、私营部门、民间社会、学术界、技术领域和其他利益攸关方联系整个联合国系统的桥头堡。

技术事务特使阿曼迪普·辛格·吉尔先生

Amandeep Singh Gill

         2022年6月10日,联合国秘书长任命阿曼迪普·辛格·吉尔先生为他的技术事务特使。吉尔先生已于2022年7月中旬就职。

         作为数字技术领域的引领者,吉尔先生对数字技术有着深入认识,并就如何负责任地、包容性地利用数字转型推动实现可持续发展目标有着深刻见解。

         吉尔先生曾任联合国秘书长数字合作高级别小组执行主任和共同负责人(2018-2019年)。在担任特使之前,他是日内瓦国际关系及发展高等学院研究生院国际数字健康与人工智能研究合作项目的首席执行官。了解更多信息

About the Office of the Secretary-General’s Envoy on Technology

Office logo

 

In June 2019, the Report of the United Nations Secretary-General’s High-Level Panel on Digital Cooperation, The Age of Digital Interdependence, described potential roles for a future Envoy on Technology to contribute to stronger digital cooperation.

The report noted that such an envoy ”could identify over-the-horizon concerns that need improved cooperation or governance; provide light-touch coordination of multi-stakeholder actors to address shared concerns; reinforce principles and norms developed in forums with relevant mandates; and work with UN member states, civil society and businesses to support compliance with agreed norms.”

Additional possible roles that the Panel envisaged for the Envoy included “coordinating the digital technology related efforts of UN entities; improving communication and collaboration among technology experts within the UN; and advising the UN Secretary-General on new technology issues. Finally, the Envoy could promote partnerships to build and maintain international digital common resources that could be used to help achieve the [Sustainable Development Goals].”

The United Nations Secretary-General’s Roadmap for Digital Cooperation responds to the report of the High-Level Panel, setting out the Secretary-General’s vision and noting that ”the United Nations is ready to serve as a platform for multi-stakeholder policy dialogue on…emerging technologies”.

“To facilitate such a dialogue”, the Secretary-General would appoint an Envoy on Technology “whose role will be to advise the senior leadership of the United Nations on key trends in technology, so as to guide the strategic approach taken by the Organization on such issues. The Envoy will also serve as an advocate and focal point for digital cooperation – so that Member States, the technology industry civil society and other stakeholders will have a first port of call for the broader United Nations system.”

In the General Assembly declaration on the commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of the United Nations of 21 September 2020 (GA resolution 75/1), Member States recognized the importance of technology as a fundamental global issue and pledged to “improve digital cooperation” to be able to maximize the benefits digital technologies can bring while curtailing risks. Member States also agreed that “the United Nations can provide a platform for all stakeholders to participate in such deliberations.”

 

 

The Secretary-General’s Common Agenda, developed in response to the UN75 Declaration, prioritizes the digital space, and the need to “protect the online space and strengthen its governance”. It also proposes a Global Digital Compact to be developed through a multistakeholder track, which would outline shared principles for an open, free and secure digital future for all.

Accordingly, the Office of the Envoy on Technology is committed to working in the open, inclusive and multi-stakeholder approach which has characterized the Secretary-General’s High-Level Panel on Digital Cooperation and the development and implementation of the Secretary-General’s Roadmap for Digital Cooperation, and will underpin the work towards a Global Digital Compact.

The Office also works closely with all United Nations entities to ensure synergy and non-duplication, participates in interagency and United Nations systemwide processes, and collaborates with ongoing multilateral and international processes and forums, in particular the Internet Governance Forum.

In line with the areas of responsibility outlined in the Secretary-General’s Roadmap on Digital Cooperation, the Office of the Secretary-General’s Envoy on Technology focuses on the following key areas:

 

  • Leads implementation of the Secretary-General’s Roadmap, coordinating the range of actions envisaged therein and working closely with the various United Nations entities and multi-stakeholder groups, so as to ensure that there is overall coherence, with full respect for the mandates of different United Nations entities.

 

  • Facilitates dialogue on the recommendations of the Roadmap and related parts of the Common Agenda to accelerate global digital cooperation, seizing on the opportunities that are presented by technology – while mitigating the risks – to ensure collective progress towards achieving the Goals by 2030.

 

  • Serves as an advocate and focal point for digital cooperation so that Member States, the private sector, civil society, academic and technical communities, and other stakeholders have a first port of call for the broader United Nations system.

 

Officer-in-Charge, Ms Maria-Francesca Spatolisano

Ms Maria-Francesca Spatolisano

Ms Maria-Francesca Spatolisano is the Officer-in Charge of the Office of the Envoy on Technology since the beginning of February 2021.

Ms. Spatolisano has 35 years of experience in public service including extensive senior leadership in multilateral affairs. She has served as the European Union Ambassador to the OECD and UNESCO, Monaco and Andorra. She was a member of the EU Delegation to the United Nations, serving as the Head of its Economic and Trade Section, covering all issues related to trade, development and environmental policies in the Second Committee and ECOSOC; she also represented the EC to the Fifth Committee. Ms Spatolisano is also the Assistant Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Inter-Agency Affairs, UN DESA, since March 2019.