Multi-Actor Food Systems Champions Network

The Champions Network mobilizes a diverse range of people in every region of the world to call for fundamental transformation of the world’s food systems. Champions are leaders of institutions and networks advancing food systems transformation and thought leadership. Champions commit to contribute to substantive discussions, generate ideas and take action to strengthen food systems, and share information to ensure anyone with an interest in food systems at all levels can engage with the Summit.

Champions are either appointed by the Special Envoy or nominated through the Champions Network Leadership Team.

Read more about the Network


portrait picture

Ruth Richardson

Chair, Champions Network

Executive Director, Global Alliance for the Future of Food, Canada

portrait picture

Marie-Claire Graf

Vice-Chair, Youth

Global Focal Point of the UNFCCC Youth Constituency, Switzerland

portrait picture

Mamadou Goita

Vice-Chair, Civil Society

Executive Director of the Institute for Research and Promotion of Alternatives in Development, Mali

portrait picture

Naoko Ishii

 Vice-Chair, Finance

Executive Vice President, Director for Center for Global Commons, the University of Tokyo, Japan

portrait picture

Vijay Kumar

Vice-Chair, Producers

Executive Vice Chairman, Rythu Sadhikara Samstha (Farmers' Empowerment Corporation), Andra Pradesh, India

portrait picture

Claudia Martínez Zuleta

Vice-Chair, Research

Co-chair of the country programs of the Food and Land Use Economy (FOLU), Colombia

portrait picture

Paul Newnham

Vice-Chair, Consumption

Director, SDG2 Advocacy Hub Secretariat and Coordinator, Chefs’ Manifesto, Australia

portrait picture

Bettina Prato

Vice-Chair, Gender

Coordinator, Smallholder and Agri-SME Finance and Investment Network (SAFIN), Italy

portrait picture

Jessica Vega Ortega

Vice-Chair, Indigenous Peoples

Coordinator, Global Indigenous Youth Caucus, Mexico

portrait picture

Rick White

Vice-Chair, Private Sector

President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Canola Growers Association, Canada

Current list of Champions