Technical Working Group 3: Enabling SDGs through Inclusive, Just Energy Transitions

Co-Leads: UN DESA, UN ESCWA, and WHO

This theme will focus on maximizing the positive impacts of an inclusive and just energy transitions on the achievement of the SDGs, including gender equality, job creation, youth empowerment, agriculture and food systems, health, education, water, and sustainable production and consumption, through coordinated multi-sectoral interventions.

Technical Working Group Meeting Summaries
Members Titles & Affiliations
Ms. Amani Abou-Zeid Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union Commission
Ms. Nawal Al-Hosany Permanent Representative of the UAE to IRENA
Ms. Habiba Ali Managing Director and CEO, Sosai Renewable Energies Company
Mr. Morgan Bazilian Director at Colorado School of Mines
Ms. Arianna Checchi Manger, Relations with International Organizations, Public Affairs, Eni spa
Ms. Soma Dutta Senior Technical Advisor, ENERGIA
Mr. Etienne Ehouan Ehile Secretary General, Association of African Universities
Mr. Devon Gardner Programme Manager for Energy and Head of the Energy Unit, CARICOM
Ms. Irene Giner-Reichl Chairperson, Global Women’s Network for the Energy Transition
Mr. Moustapha Kamal Gueye Coordinator at ILO
Mr. Harish Hande Co-Founder, SELCO Foundation
Mr. Edwin Huizing Executive Director, Hivos
Mr. Hans Olav Ibrekk Policy Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway
Mr. Mir S Islam CEO & Founder, Em One
Ms. Aida Lorenzo de Juárez General Manager, Association for Promotion of Renewable Fuels of Guatemala
Mr. Nebojsa Nakicenovic Professor Emeritus, Vienna University of Technology
Ms. Reema Nanavaty Director, Self-Employed Women’s Organization
Mr. Måns Nilsson Executive Director, Stockholm Environment Institute
Ms. Asma Rouabhia Sustainability Young Arab Leader for UNESCO
Mr. Ariel Scheffer da Silva Head of Environmental Management, Itaipu Binacional - Brasil
Ms. Cherop Soy Thematic Focal Point, UNMGCY SDG7 Youth Constituency
Ms. Leena Srivastava Deputy Director General, IIASA
Mr. Kazuhiko Takeuchi President, IGES
Ms. Dipti Vaghela Manager, Hydro Empowerment Network
Mr. Kandeh Yumkella CEO, TENN

Status as of 2 February 2021

Note: In addition to the Members listed below, the technical focal points of UN-Energy organisations will by default participate in any of the Technical Working Groups, as and where relevant.