Technical Working Group 2: Energy Transition


This theme will focus on energy sector decarbonisation strategies to dramatically increase the application of renewable energy and energy efficiency, including in end use sectors like transport (e.g. renewable powered electric vehicles), while ensuring a just transition, including strategies on coal phase-out.

Technical Working Group Meeting Summaries
Members Titles & Affiliations
Ms. Faye Alhersh Technology Specialist in Strategy, MASDAR
Ms. Ada Ámon Senior Advisor Climate & Energy, City of Budapest
Mr. Daniele Agostini Head of Low Carbon and Energy Policies, Enel
Ms. Safiatou Alzouma Director, Africa Renewable Energy Initiative
Ms. Jaff Epse Bime Marilyn Bongmo Rural Engineer, Ministry of Water Resources and Energy of Cameroon
Mr. Xiangkun (Elvis) Cao PhD Student, Cornell University
Mr. Sören Dengg Head of Division, Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany
Ms. Gabriela Prata Dias Head, Copenhagen Centre on Energy Efficiency
Ms. Tasneem Essop Executive Director, Climate Action Network
Ms. Judith Franco President, Argentinian Association of Renewable Energy and the Environment
Mr. Qin Haiyan President, Chinese Wind Energy Association
Ms. Lucy Heintz Partner, Actis
Ms. Ditte Juul Jørgensen Director-General, DG Energy, EU Commission
Mr. Vladislav Kaim Member of the UN Secretary General’s Youth Advisory Group on Climate Change
Ms. Ngụy Thị Khanh Executive Director, Green Innovation and Development Centre (GreenID) in Vietnam
Mr. Ken Koyama Senior Managing Director, IEEJ
Ms. Amélie Lougsami Climate and Energy Policy Officer, Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs of France
Ms. Madalena Callé Lucas Senior Sustainability Advisor, EDP -Energias De Portugal SA
Mr. Grammenos Mastrojeni Deputy Secretary General of the Union for the Mediterranean - Energy and Climate Action Division
Ms. Wanjira Mathai Vice President and Regional Director for Africa, WRI Africa
Ms. Laura Martín Murillo Director, Just Transition Institute, Ministry for Ecological Transition and Demographic Challenge
Mr. Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu Lead Climate Change Specialist, Ministry of Environment of the Democratic Republic of Congo
Mr. Ricardo Ranieri Bernain Professor, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Mr. Karsten Sach Director General, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU)
Mr. Pablo Salas Co-Lead, Economics of Energy Innovation and Systems Transition Project
Mr. Youba Sokona Vice Chair, IPCC/The South Centre
Mr. Robert Stoner Deputy Director, MIT Energy Initiative
Mr. Frank Qiankun Wang Executive Director of North America Office, GEIDCO
Ms. Sheila Watson Director of Environment and Research, FiA Foundation
Mr. Ali Zerouali Director of International Coorporation & Development, Moroccan Agency for Sustainable Energy

Status as of 2 February 2021

Note: In addition to the Members listed below, the technical focal points of UN-Energy organisations will by default participate in any of the Technical Working Groups, as and where relevant.