Twenty-one new members join UN Economic and Social Council

ECOSOC in session

Twenty-one countries were yesterday elected to serve on the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), one of the six principal organs of the United Nations and the main body tasked with furthering economic and social cooperation and development worldwide. In the General Assembly this morning, UN Member States elected 18 countries to serve three-year terms starting next year and three other nations through by-elections held as some countries were stepping down from the 54-member Council before the formal end of their terms. 

Bookmark and Share