Committee on NGOs convenes for first session of 2014

NGO Committee convenes (UN Photo)

The 2014 regular session of the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) will take place in New York from 21 to 30 January and is expected to consider 220 new applications for consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) by NGOs as well as 219 applications deferred from earlier sessions.

The Committee will also review 290 quadrennial reports of NGOs in general or special consultative status, as well as 23 quadrennial reports deferred from earlier sessions. The Committee will meet again on 7 February to adopt its report of the session. The session’s recommendations will then be sent to ECOSOC for its approval in July 2014.

The Committee on NGOs is a standing committee of ECOSOC, established by the Council in 1946. It reports directly to ECOSOC, and the two reports of its annual regular session (usually at the end of January) and resumed session (in May) include draft resolutions or decisions on matters calling for action by the Council. 

The main tasks of the Committee are:

  • The consideration of applications for consultative status and requests for reclassification submitted by NGOs;
  • The consideration of quadrennial reports submitted by NGOs in General and Special categories;
  • The implementation of the provisions of Council resolution 1996/31 and the monitoring of the consultative relationship;
  • Any other issues which the ECOSOC may request the Committee to consider.

The Committee has 19 members who are elected on the basis of equitable geographical representation: 5 members from African States; 4 members from Asian States; 2 members from Eastern European States; 4 members from Latin American and Caribbean States; and 4 members from Western European and other States. The term of office of its members is four years. Current membership will end on 31 December 2014.

Members of the NGO Committee for the period 2011-2014 are the following: Belgium (Vice-Chair), Bulgaria (Vice-Chair), Burundi, China, Cuba, India, Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Morocco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Pakistan (Chair), Peru (Vice-Chair and Rapporteur), Russian Federation, Senegal, Sudan (Vice-Chair), Turkey, United States of America, and Venezuela (Bolivarian Rep).

Bookmark and Share