New York

29 September 2017

Note to Correspondents on Voluntary Compact on Preventing and Addressing Sexual Exploitation and Abuse

The United Nations is grateful to the many Member States that have already answered the call by Secretary-General António Guterres to sign onto a Voluntary Compact on preventing and addressing sexual exploitation and abuse. A number of additional Member States have also formally indicated their intention to sign the Voluntary Compact. This represents an unprecedented demonstration of solidarity and a firm commitment to addressing the issue comprehensively and effectively, ensuring full implementation of the Secretary-General’s Zero Tolerance policy.
The Secretary-General introduced the Compact at a High Level Meeting on the Prevention of Sexual Exploitation and Abuse held in the margins of the United Nations General Assembly on 18 September 2017. The meeting brought together world leaders and leaders of regional and civil society organizations and charted an ambitious strategy aimed at responding comprehensively to sexual exploitation and abuse by UN personnel. At the High Level Meeting, the Secretary-General re-affirmed to Member States that the United Nations would “not tolerate anyone committing or condoning sexual exploitation and abuse” and would “not let anyone cover up these crimes with the UN flag.” The Compact, as Under-Secretary-General for Field Support, Atul Khare indicated, is “another visible demonstration of common purpose and collective resolve” to achieve this aim.
The signatories to the Compact represent a broad cross-section of the membership. Their signature - or formal expression of intention to sign - highlights their dedication to the issue and their support to the critical work being done by the United Nations to contribute to the maintenance of international peace and security through uniformed personnel to peace operations, addressing humanitarian needs, promoting and protecting human rights and contributing to sustainable development, or through financial contributions.  The document remains open for signature and the Secretariat encourages all Member States that have not signed to add their voice to this important initiative.
The United Nations is grateful to all those Member States that have signed or are taking steps to sign the Compact.  Through the Compact, the Secretary-General and Member States re-affirm their mutual belief that sexual exploitation and abuse runs counter to their shared values and erodes the trust of those the UN serves. The Compact also sets out specific commitments adopted by the United Nations and by signatory Member States to prevent sexual exploitation and abuse, to hold individuals accountable and to respect the dignity of those who have been victimized by providing them with meaningful support.
UNITED NATIONS, New York – 29 September 2017
Signatories to the Voluntary Compact Voluntary Compact on Elimination of Sexual Exploitation and Abuse between the Secretary-General of the United Nations and Member States, as of 29 September 2017:

  1. The Republic of Albania
  2. The Principality of Andorra
  3. The Argentine Republic
  4. Australia
  5. The People's Republic of Bangladesh
  6. The Republic of Belarus
  7. The Kingdom of Belgium
  8. The Kingdom of Bhutan
  9. The Federative Republic of Brazil
  10. The Republic of Bulgaria
  11. The Republic of Cabo Verde
  12. Canada
  13. The Central African Republic
  14. The Republic of Chile
  15. The Republic of Costa Rica
  16. The Republic of Côte d'Ivoire     
  17. The Republic of Cyprus*
  18. The Czech Republic
  19. The Kingdom of Denmark
  20. The Dominican Republic 
  21. The Republic of El Salvador
  22. The Republic of Estonia
  23. The Republic of Fiji*
  24. The Republic of Finland
  25. The French Republic
  26. The Gabonese Republic
  27. The Federal Republic of Germany
  28. The Hellenic Republic
  29. The Republic of Guatemala        
  30. The Republic of Honduras
  31. The Republic of Iceland
  32. The Republic of Indonesia
  33. The State of Israel
  34. The Republic of Italy
  35. Japan
  36. The Republic of Kazakhstan
  37. The Republic of Latvia
  38. The Republic of Lithuania
  39. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 
  40. The Republic of Malawi
  41. The Republic of Mali
  42. The Republic of Malta* 
  43. The United Mexican States
  44. The Principality of Monaco
  45. Montenegro
  46. The Republic of Namibia
  47. The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  48. The Kingdom of the Netherlands
  49. The Republic of the Niger
  50. The Kingdom of Norway
  51. The Islamic Republic of Pakistan 
  52. The Republic of Panama 
  53. The Republic of Paraguay
  54. The Republic of Poland
  55. The Portuguese Republic
  56. The Republic of Korea
  57. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  58. The Independent State of Samoa
  59. The Republic of San Marino
  60. The Republic of Senegal
  61. The Republic of Slovenia
  62. The Kingdom of Spain
  63. The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  64. The Kingdom of Sweden
  65. The Togolese Republic
  66. The Republic of Tunisia*
  67. Ukraine
  68. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  69. The United Republic of Tanzania
  70. The United States of America
  71. The Eastern Republic of Uruguay
  72. The Republic of Zambia

* Member States that are processing the document for signature, having obtained all clearances from capital.
In addition to the signatories listed herein, the following 19 Member States have formally indicated their intention to sign the Voluntary Compact in the near future and are actively processing the required approvals in their capitals:  the Republic of Austria; the Republic of Benin; the Republic of Croatia; the Democratic Republic of the Congo; the Republic of Djibouti; the Republic of Ecuador; the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia; the Republic of Ghana; the Republic of India; Ireland; the Republic of Kenya; the Principality of Liechtenstein; the Federated States of Micronesia; the Federal Republic of Nigeria; the Republic of Peru; the Republic of Rwanda; the Slovak Republic; the Republic of South Africa and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.