Welcome to the High-level Segment of ECOSOC, 6-10 July 2015, New York

ECOSOC opens High-level Segment on Monday, 6 July

"We have a responsibility to contribute to the process that will chart our way for the next fifteen years & beyond," said ECOSOC Vice-President on behalf of ECOSOC President at the opening of the 2015 High-level Segment of the Economic and Social Council, which takes place from 6 to 10 July 2015 at UN Headquarters in New York.

The High-level Segment includes the ministerial portion of the high-level political forum (HLPF) on sustainable development, under the auspices of the Council, and the Annual Ministerial Review (AMR) . The week is structured as follows:

  • Monday through Wednesday, 6-8 July 2015: Ministerial portion of the High-level Political Forum (HLPF) on sustainable development, under the auspices of ECOSOC
    Theme: “Strengthening integration, implementation and review – the HLPF after 2015”
  • Thursday and Friday, 9-10 July 2015: Annual Ministerial Review (AMR) of ECOSOC
    Theme: “Managing the transition from the Millennium Development Goals to the sustainable development goals: what it will take”

The year 2015 is a critical juncture for mobilizing all development actors to take collective action to end poverty, promote prosperity and well-being for all, protect the environment and address climate change. The international community is in the final months of agreeing on the post-2015 development agenda, which will be adopted at a UN Summit in September. This is the second annual HLPF to be held under the Council's auspices, and this is an important year for preparing it to be ready to deliver in 2016. Likewise, ECOSOC and its constituent parts will be expected to support the implementation of the post-2015 development agenda, building upon its experience working with Member States, UN system entities and partners from the business sector and civil society in assessing progress on the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and the wider UN development agenda.

This year National Voluntary Presentations will be made by Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Philippines and Zambia.