Non Self-Governing Territories

TERRITORY Administration Area ( Population 1
Western Sahara 2 266,000 584,000
Anguilla United Kingdom 96 15,700
Bermuda United Kingdom 53.35 61,695
British Virgin Islands United Kingdom 153 28,200
Cayman Islands United Kingdom 264 60,413
Falkland Islands (Malvinas)3 United Kingdom 12,173 2,500
Montserrat United Kingdom 103 5,000
St. Helena United Kingdom 310 5,691
Turks and Caicos Islands United Kingdom 948.2 37,910
United States Virgin Islands United States 352 103,700
Gibraltar United Kingdom 5.8 33,140
American Samoa United States 200 60,200
French Polynesia4 France 3,600 271,800
Guam United States 540 159,358
New Caledonia5 France 18,575 268,767
Pitcairn United Kingdom 35.5 39
Tokelau New Zealand 12.2 1,499

1. All data from this table is from United Nations Secretariat 2017 Working Papers on NSGTs, and for Western Sahara, from UNdata (, a database by the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations.

2. On 26 February 1976, Spain informed the Secretary-General that as of that date it had terminated its presence in the Territory of the Sahara and deemed it necessary to place on record that Spain considered itself thenceforth exempt from any responsibility of any international nature in connection with the administration of the Territory, in view of the cessation of its participation in the temporary administration established for the Territory. In 1990, the General Assembly reaffirmed that the question of Western Sahara was a question of decolonization which remained to be completed by the people of Western Sahara.

3. A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

4. French Polynesia was on the United Nations list of Non-Self Governing Territories from 1946 to 1947, following transmission of information on French Establishments in Oceania by France under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations. In 2013, the General Assembly re-inscribed French Polynesia, by recognizing that “French Polynesia remains a Non-Self-Governing Territory within the meaning of the Charter”.

5. On 2 December 1986, the General Assembly determined that New Caledonia was a Non-Self-Governing Territory.