Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Nelson Mandela International Day, July 18
For freedom, justice and democracy

Selection Committee

In accordance with Article 4 (1) of the Statute, the individuals who are to receive the United Nations Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela Prize shall be selected by the Committee, to be composed of the following: (a) Five representatives of States Members of the United Nations, one to be selected by each of the five regional groups, namely, African States, Asia-Pacific States, Eastern European States, Latin American and Caribbean States, and Western European and other States, for a period of five years; (b) A representative of the Permanent Mission of South Africa to the United Nations, to serve as ex officio member of the Committee; (c) The President of the General Assembly, who shall serve as Chair of the Committee.

The 2015 selection Committee is composed as follows:

Chair of the Committee

H.E. Mr. Sam K. Kutesa, President of the United Nations General Assembly’s sixty-ninth session

African States

H.E. Mr. Sabri Boukadoum, Permanent Representative of Algeria to the United Nations

Asia-Pacific States

H.E. Mr. Abdallah Y. Al-Mouallimi, Permanent Representative of Saudi Arabia to the United Nations

Eastern European States

H.E. Mr. Jānis Mažeiks, Permanent Representative of Latvia to the United Nations

Latin American and Caribbean States

H.E. Mr. Jorge Mario Montaño y Martinez, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations

Western European and other States

H.E. Mr. Olof Skoog, Permanent Representative of Sweden to the United Nations

Ex-officio member of the Committee

H.E. Mr. Jeremiah Nyamane Kingsley Mamabolo, Permanent Representative of South Africa to the United Nations

The UN Department of Public Information has been designated to serve as the secretariat of the Committee.

Further information on the selection process can be found at: http://www.un.org/en/events/mandeladay/prize.shtml.