过度捕捞:对海洋生物多样性的威胁
 
   

打印点击此处 | 相关网页

 

过度捕捞:对海洋生物多样性的威胁

海洋生物多样性对人类生存关系重大,但是正面临日益增长的巨大危险,渔场耗竭是最令人关切的事项之一。

渔业是2亿人民的生计和粮食安全的核心,特别是在发展中世界,而地球上每五人中就有一人以鱼类为主要蛋白质来源。根据联合国机构的资料,水产养殖 -- 包括鱼类、软体动物、甲壳动物和水生植物等水生物的养殖 -- 的增长速度快于任何其他动物食品生产部门。但是,在事实和数字表明全世界水产养殖生产规模急剧扩大的同时,其他更令人清醒的统计数字显示,面临日益增长的过度捕捞和环境退化压力,全球主要海洋鱼类岌岌可危。

“过度捕捞再也不能继续下去了,”2002年约翰内斯堡可持续发展问题世界首脑会议秘书长尼廷·德赛警告说,“渔场耗竭对千百万人民的粮食供应构成重大威胁。” 约翰内斯堡执行计划要求建立海洋保护区,许多专家认为,这可能是养护和增加鱼类资源的关键所在。然而, 根据位于英国剑桥的联合国环境规划署(环境规划署) 世界养护监测中心的说法,海洋保护区目前占世界大洋和海洋的面积不到百分之一。

然而,由于砍伐森林、荒漠化、能源开发和其他耗竭生物多样性的两难处境竞相吸引人们的注意力,过度捕捞问题的严重性常常被忽视。国内市场和出口市场对鱼类和鱼产品的需求迅速增长导致鱼价上升速度高于肉价。结果是,渔业投资对企业家和政府更有吸引力,而此种投资大大损害全世界小型渔业和渔业社区的利益。在过去十年,北大西洋区域的鳕鱼、无须鳕、黑线鳕和鲆鱼等商业鱼群数量下降幅度达95%,促使有关方面呼吁采取紧急措施。一些相关方面甚至建议零捕捞,以便恢复鱼群,但捕鱼业强烈反对。

粮农组织估计,世界上70%的鱼种或者已经充分捕捞,或者正在耗竭。破坏性捕捞技术的应用在世界范围急剧增加,毁灭了海洋哺乳动物和整个生态系统。粮农组织报告说,由于捕鱼者设法回避许多地区针对渔获量萎缩和鱼群减少而采取的更严格的管理规则,世界范围内的非法、无管制和未报告捕捞活动似乎在增加。只有寥寥无几的几个发展中国家和为数有限的发达国家将到年底前实施预防、阻止和消除非法、未报告和无管制的捕捞活动国际行动计划。

尽管每一区域都有自己的区域海洋公约,大约108个国家政府和欧洲联盟委员会通过了《保护海洋环境免受陆上活动污染全球行动纲领》,但是海洋耗竭速度仍是森林耗竭速度的两倍。

约翰内斯堡论坛强调必须恢复枯竭的渔业,并认识到,可持续捕捞要求政府、渔民、社区和捕捞行业结成伙伴关系。首脑会议敦促各国批准《海洋法公约》和旨在促进海洋安全和保护环境免遭船舶造成的海洋污染和环境损害的其他文书。只有采取多边方式才能抵消过去40年增加四倍多的世界渔场耗竭率。

详细情况,请联络:

联合国环境规划署(UNEP),肯尼亚内罗毕,媒体事务主管,Nick Nuttall 先生,电话: 254 20 623084, Mobile 254 (0) 733 632755, 传真:254 2 623692


 
 
英文 俄文 西班牙文 阿拉伯文 法文

Overfishing: a threat to marine biodiversity
Chinese Russian Spanish Arabic French
 
   
Ten Stories HomePrintable version | related links
 

Overfishing: a threat to marine biodiversity

Despite its crucial importance for the survival of humanity, marine biodiversity is in ever-greater danger, with the depletion of fisheries among biggest concerns.

Fishing is central to the livelihood and food security of 200 million people, especially in the developing world, while one of five people on this planet depends on fish as the primary source of protein. According to UN agencies, aquaculture - the farming and stocking of aquatic organisms including fish, molluscs, crustaceans and aquatic plants - is growing more rapidly than all other animal food producing sectors. But amid facts and figures about aquaculture's soaring worldwide production rates, other, more sobering, statistics reveal that global main marine fish stocks are in jeopardy, increasingly pressured by overfishing and environmental degradation.

“Overfishing cannot continue,” warned Nitin Desai, Secretary General of the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development, which took place in Johannesburg. “The depletion of fisheries poses a major threat to the food supply of millions of people.” The Johannesburg Plan of Implementation calls for the establishment of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs), which many experts believe may hold the key to conserving and boosting fish stocks. Yet, according to the UN Environment Programme’s (UNEP) World Conservation Monitoring Centre, in Cambridge, UK, less than one per cent of the world’s oceans and seas are currently in MPAs.

The magnitude of the problem of overfishing is often overlooked, given the competing claims of deforestation, desertification, energy resource exploitation and other biodiversity depletion dilemmas. The rapid growth in demand for fish and fish products is leading to fish prices increasing faster than prices of meat. As a result, fisheries investments have become more attractive to both entrepreneurs and governments, much to the detriment of small-scale fishing and fishing communities all over the world. In the last decade, in the north Atlantic region, commercial fish populations of cod, hake, haddock and flounder have fallen by as much as 95%, prompting calls for urgent measures. Some are even recommending zero catches to allow for regeneration of stocks, much to the ire of the fishing industry.

According to a Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) estimate, over 70% of the world’s fish species are either fully exploited or depleted. The dramatic increase of destructive fishing techniques worldwide destroys marine mammals and entire ecosystems. FAO reports that illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing worldwide appears to be increasing as fishermen seek to avoid stricter rules in many places in response to shrinking catches and declining fish stocks. Few, if any, developing countries and only a limited number of developed ones are on track to put into effect by this year the International Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Unreported and Unregulated Fishing. Despite that fact that each region has its Regional Sea Conventions, and some 108 governments and the European Commission have adopted the UNEP Global Programme of Action for the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land based Activities, oceans are cleared at twice the rate of forests.

The Johannesburg forum stressed the importance of restoring depleted fisheries and acknowledged that sustainable fishing requires partnerships by and between governments, fishermen, communities and industry. It urged countries to ratify the Convention on the Law of the Sea and other instruments that promote maritime safety and protect the environment from marine pollution and environmental damage by ships. Only a multilateral approach can counterbalance the rate of depletion of the world’s fisheries which has increased more than four times in the past 40 years.

For further information:
Mr. Nick Nuttall, Head of Media Services, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Nairobi, Kenya.
Tel: 254 20 623084, Mobile 254 (0) 733 632755, Fax 254 2 623692, E-mail nick.nuttall@unep.org