*英文  

秘书长在“永不忘怀:战胜奴隶制纪念”展览开幕式上的致词

2007年3月1日,纽约

诸位阁下,

女士们、先生们:

  我感谢所有为举办这次展览出力的朋友和伙伴。 加勒比共同体各国政府、印度政府和朔姆堡黑人文化研究中心制作了一个动人和精彩的展览。我为联合国对这项努力作出的贡献而自豪。

  在联合国宣传终结贩奴贸易经过是理所应当的。捍卫人权是本组织全球使命的核心。《联合国宪章》宣告了权利的平等。《世界人权宣言》则申明:“任何人不得使为奴隶或奴役”。

  然而,穿越大西洋的贩奴贸易在很长时期内为害世界。本展览描绘了在这几个世纪中盛行的灭绝人性的可怕行径。数百万人死于非洲境内和穿越大西洋的漫长贩运之途。数百万人在南北美洲受尽残酷剥削,眼睁睁地看着自己的劳动果实造成了繁荣的社会,却在这些社会中毫无权利可言。

  但是,尽管有些人再次显示了人类可以变得多么残暴,也有些人显示出人类高尚的一面。废奴运动诞生了。奴隶们自己也奋起反抗,他们的斗争在海地最为引人注目。

  两百年前的明天,美国总统托马斯·杰佛逊签署了废止贩奴贸易的立法。同月下旬,英国议会宣布在大英帝国全境禁止贩奴贸易。形势终于被扭转。因此,联合国大会宣布,全世界应在今年3月25日举行这个重要的纪念。

  我们在纪念时,还应当铭记,即使在今天,形同奴役的做法仍在为害千百万人。这些做法包括债务奴役和在武装冲突当中使用儿童兵。受害人通常不敢站出来说话。我们尽管在人权运动当中取得了重大成就,但仍任重道远。

  本展览告诉人们的不只是战胜贩奴贸易的经过。我们还看到男子和妇女是如何奋争,在一个冷酷的世界上保持自己的尊严和自己的文化。让他们的斗争激励我们。让我们完成未竟的事业。

  我现在宣布本次展览开幕。

  谢谢大家。

  ■ 视频回顾(40分钟)

Please note, all PDF documents will open in a new browser window.

THE SECRETARY-GENERAL REMARKS AT OPENING OF THE EXHIBITION
“LEST WE FORGET – THE TRIUMPH OVER SLAVERY”

New York, 1 March 2007


Excellencies,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I thank all the friends and partners who were involved in making this exhibition possible. The Governments of the Caribbean Community, the Government of India, and the Schomburg Centre for Research in Black Culture have produced a moving and fascinating show. I am proud of the UN’s contributions to this effort.

The story of the end of the slave trade deserves to be told here at the United Nations. Indeed, the defense of human rights is at the heart of this Organization’s global mission. Our Charter proclaims equal rights. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights states that “no one shall be held in slavery or servitude”.

For too long, however, the transatlantic slave trade was a blight on the world. The illustrations in this exhibition depict the terrible dehumanization that prevailed during those centuries. Millions perished from the long march in Africa and the middle passage across the Atlantic. Millions were exploited under brutal conditions in the Americas, and saw their labour help build prosperous societies in which they had no say.

But if human beings showed yet again their capacity for cruelty, some showed a more noble side. Abolitionist movements sprung up. Slaves themselves rose up against their subjugation, most notably in Haiti.

Two hundred years ago tomorrow, United States President Thomas Jefferson signed legislation abolishing the slave trade. Later that same month, the British Parliament banned the slave trade throughout the British Empire. The tide had turned. Accordingly, the UN General Assembly has proclaimed 25 March of this year as a day on which the world should commemorate this important anniversary.

As we do so, we should remember that even today, many millions of our fellow human beings are subjected to slavery-like practices. These include debt bondage and the use of children in armed conflict. The victims are typically too scared to speak out. For all that has been accomplished in our campaign for human rights, we still have much to do.

This exhibition tells more than the story of the triumph over the slave trade. We also see men and women striving to maintain dignity and their culture in a world without mercy. Let us be inspired by their struggle. And let us finish the job that is still before us.

Now it is my great pleasure to declare this exhibition open.

Thank you.

Watch entire speech and opening of the exhibit at
http://webcast.un.org/ramgen/specialevents/se070301pm1.rm