*英文  

  试想,仅仅因为肤色的差异,你被迫离开家园,抛下以泪洗面的家人,步行数百英里,辗转来到西非的大西洋岸。从此,你失去了姓名、身份以及一切人类应有的权利。欧洲人的大船跨越大洋,通过这条可怕的“中途”把你运到了加勒比海和南美的种植园。在长达数月的旅程中,成群的黑人被枷锁捆绑在一起,无处翻身。晕船导致呕吐物四处都是,孩子们经常因此滑倒,而弥漫在空气中的味道简直令人窒息。女人的尖叫和垂死者的呻吟让整个场景更加毛骨悚然。死亡和疾病无处不在,每六个人里面只有一个人能在这段旅程中幸存。即便幸存,等待他们是残暴的、暗无天日的劳作。

  奴隶制和奴隶贩卖是人类历史上最恶劣的侵犯人权行为。 跨大西洋奴隶贩卖因其持续时间之久(400年)、 规模之大(约1700万人,还不包括死于途中的人数)和正当性与否(根据当时的法律是合法的),成为其中最独特的一段历史。

  跨大西洋奴隶贩卖成为历史上最大的人口流动,也经常作为全球化的首例被提及。从十六世纪到十九世纪,它波及几个地区和大洲:非洲、南北美洲、欧洲和加勒比地区,数百万的非洲人被欧洲人买卖剥削。

  “三角贸易”

  船载贸易货物如:枪支、酒精和马匹离开欧洲港口前往西非,他们将这些物品用于交换奴役非洲人。奴隶或是在战争中被俘,或纯粹被捕捉和买卖,成为了繁荣当地商业的牺牲品。

  大量超载非洲奴隶船横跨“中途”,运向加勒比海及南美洲的欧美殖民地。为了最大限度运输奴隶,船的某些舱位经常被拆掉。据估计,每六名非洲中就有一人死于拥挤、不卫生的奴隶之旅。 船上有疾病或叛乱发生后,这个人数可能上升为每两人中便有一人多。

  幸存下来的奴隶被售出后,船返回欧洲时载运着奴工生产的产品,如糖、烟草、棉花、咖啡和朗姆酒。

  奴隶制的正当性

  跨大西洋奴隶贩卖是一个综合性、大规模的经济体系。主要贸易国如西班牙、葡萄牙、荷兰、英格兰和法国都能在这个三角旅程的每一站赚取可观的利润,许多欧洲城市的兴盛在于其持续农业产业的利润,而这一切都建立在非洲奴隶的“脊背”上。

  奴隶制的实行往往基于慈善或宗教理由。1685年诞生的名声狼籍的《黑人法典》甚至把它编纂入法。这一法国法律规范了美洲殖民地主人和奴隶间的权利和义务,声明说,“我们宣布奴隶为动产”,来制定了严苛的纪律制度,包括鞭刑和对于轻罪的烙印。同时,该法还描述了奴隶的“好处”,即免于被主人虐待,拥有宗教假日,强迫信奉天主教徒,允许结婚和拥有家庭。

  废除跨越大西洋的贩卖奴隶

  到了18世纪末期,在英国和美国,以及欧洲其它地区,道德和政治上反对奴隶贩卖的声音越来越大。一些团体,如北美的贵格会和英国的消灭奴隶贩卖社团通过请愿书,联合抵制运动,以及分发描述奴隶悲惨境遇的宣传单,来唤醒公众对贩卖奴隶的关注。

  奴隶们也终于站起来反抗压迫。其中,以1791年到1804年发生在海地的革命尤为著名。这起单一事件让殖民列强开始意识到奴隶起义的政治、军事威胁,也成为了奴隶贩卖制度重要的转折点。与此同时,废奴运动声浪渐起,几个欧洲殖民地经济重要性降低也带来了经济环境的改变,种种因素促使跨大西洋奴隶贩卖走向终结。

  200年前的1807年3月初,美国总统托马斯·杰弗逊签署法令废除了奴隶贩卖。同月,在废奴主义者威廉·威尔伯福斯、詹姆士·拉姆齐牧师和约翰·韦斯利等人的努力下,英国议会废除了的大英帝国的奴隶贩卖。滚滚历史潮流终于逆转。

  此后,其它欧洲国家纷纷效仿,制定法律废除奴隶制。然而,随着古巴和巴西分别在1886年和1888年废除奴隶制度,跨越大西洋的奴隶贩卖直到80年后才最后终结。

  遗产

  跨越大西洋奴隶贩卖的历史遗产多有争论。然而,毫无疑问的是,它直接导致了数百万被奴役非洲人语言、文化和宗教很大程度的毁灭。如此规模的人类流动无疑使非洲经济陷入停滞,更有学者认为,这造成了非洲长期落后于世界其它地区。甚至可以这么说,奴隶制重新定义了非洲人对世界的意义,以至于后来种族主义的形成和非洲人是劣等民族的陋识。

  重温历史,向受害者致意

  2006年11月28日, 联合国大会决定将2007年3月25日定为纪念废除跨大西洋贩卖奴隶二百周年国际日。认识到现代世界仍然存在奴隶制的影响。成员国承认奴隶制是“迄今仍影响着非洲裔人民的深刻社会经济不平等现象、仇恨、偏执、种族主义和偏见等情况”。

  这一天是为了悼念因奴隶制而死亡的人,其中包括因中途惨遭折磨和因反抗和抵抗奴役而死亡的人。它还旨在减少今天在确认贩卖奴隶和奴隶制造成的后果方面“认识的差距”。

Please note, all PDF documents will open in a new browser window.

Imagine being torn from your weeping family as a result of ethnic warfare… forced to walk hundreds of miles until you reach the sea on the West African side of the Atlantic Ocean. You are stripped of your name, your identity, of every right a human being deserves. The European ship that you are forced to board, is headed across the Atlantic to Caribbean and South American plantations, a voyage through the awful “middle passage”. A multitude of black people of every description chained together, with scarcely room to turn, traveling for months, seasick, surrounded by the filth of vomit-filled tubs, into which children often fell, some suffocating. The shrieks of the women, and the groans of the dying renders the whole scene of horror almost inconceivable. Death and disease are all around and only one in six will survive this journey and the brutal, backbreaking labour that follows…

The transatlantic slave trade persisted for four centuries.

Slavery and the slave trade are among the worst violations of human rights in the history of humanity. The transatlantic slave trade was unique within the entire history of slavery due to its duration (four hundred years), its scale (approximately 17 million people excluding those who died during transport) and the legitimization accorded to it, including under laws of the time.

The transatlantic slave trade constituted the biggest deportation in history and is often referred to as the first example of globalization. Lasting from the 16th century to the 19th century, it involved several regions and continents: Africa, North and South America, Europe and the Caribbean and resulted in the sale and exploitation of millions of Africans by Europeans.

The “triangular trade”

Ships carrying trading goods such as guns, alcohol and horses left European ports headed for West Africa, where they would exchange these items for enslaved Africans. The slaves had either been captured in wars or were victims of a thriving local business in the capture and sale of slaves.

Ships heavily overloaded with African slaves would then set out across the “Middle Passage” to American and European colonies in the Caribbean and South America. To transport the maximum number of slaves the ship’s steerage was often removed. It is estimated that one in six slaves died on this journey due to the cramped, unsanitary conditions. On ships where disease or rebellion occurred, this toll could rise to more than one in two.

After the surviving slaves were sold, the ships returned to Europe carrying goods produced with slave labour such as sugar, tobacco, cotton, rum and coffee.  

Justifying a System of Slavery

The transatlantic slave trade was a comprehensive and large scale economic system. The main trading countries - Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands, England and France – were able to make a significant profit on each leg of the triangular journey and many European cities flourished courtesy of the profits from agricultural industries built and sustained literally on the “backs” of African slaves. 

The practice of slavery was often justified on philanthropic or religious grounds. It was even codified under law, in the notorious “Code Noir” of 1685. This French law set out the rights and duties of masters and slaves in the colonies of the Americas and stated that “We declare slaves as movable property”. It established a system of harsh discipline including flogging and branding for minor crimes however it was also portrayed as a “benefit” to slaves against abuses by their masters and included the provision of religious holidays, enforced Catholic worship, tolerance of intermarriages and advocacy for the preservation of families.

Abolition of the Transatlantic Slave Trade

By the late 18th century, moral and political opposition to the slave trade was growing in Britain and the US, as well as in other parts of Europe. Groups such as the Quakers in North America and the Society for the Extinction of the Slave Trade in Britain were instrumental in raising public awareness of the slave trade through public petitions, boycott campaigns and the dissemination of materials describing and sometimes illustrating the living conditions of slaves onboard the trade ships or working on the plantations.

Slaves also rose up against their subjugation, most notably in Haiti in the Revolution of 1791 to 1804. This single event marked a significant turning point for the slave trade as the colonial powers began to recognise the political and military risks of such uprisings. This factor, combined with the growing voices of the abolitionist movement and the changing economic conditions that had reduced the economic significance of some European colonies, signaled the beginning of the end of the transatlantic trade. 

Two hundred years ago in early March of 1807, the United States’ President, Thomas Jefferson, signed legislation abolishing the slave trade. Later that same month, the British Parliament, led by the efforts of abolitionists William Wilberforce, the Reverend James Ramsay and John Wesley, banned the slave trade throughout the British Empire. The tide had turned. 

In subsequent years other European countries followed suit with laws prohibiting slavery; however it was not until 80 years later that the transatlantic slave trade was finally extinguished, with Cuba and Brazil abolishing it in 1886 and 1888 respectively.

Legacy

The legacy of the transatlantic slave trade is the subject of much debate. There can be no doubt that it resulted in the destruction of a significant portion of the language, culture and religion of millions of enslaved Africans. The removal of such large numbers of people from Africa disrupted the African economy and is believed by some scholars to have permanently disadvantaged Africa compared to other parts of the world. It can also be argued that slavery redefined Africans to the world, leaving a legacy of racism and stereotyping of Africans as inferior.

Acknowledging the Tragedy, Honoring the Victims

On 28 November 2006, the UN General Assembly designated 25 March 2007 as the International Day for the Commemoration of the Two-Hundredth Anniversary of the Abolition of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. Recognizing the ever lasting effect of slavery in the modern world, Member States acknowledged that slavery was at the heart of “profound social and economic inequality, hatred, bigotry, racism and prejudice, which continue to affect people of African descent today.” 

The purpose of this Day is to honour the memory of those who died as a result of slavery, including through exposure to the horrors of the middle passage and in the fight for freedom from enslavement. It also aims to decrease the “knowledge gap” that exists today with regard to the consequences created by the slave trade and slavery.

Sources: