2006年国际老年人日
     

秘书长国际老年人日致词
2006年10月1日

  今年是我担任秘书长第十年,也是最后一年,在为联合国服务一生之后,老年人的命运和实现老年人愿望的努力与我个人也息息相关。但我仅仅是全世界6亿60岁以上长者中的一员。在全世界,人民寿命日益延长,因此,整个人类大家庭都有责任鼓励和促进形成一个老有所为、老有所事和健康长寿的进程。如果能够增强老年人能力,使他们具备潜力,为发展进程和建设具有更高生产力、更和平和更有持续能力的社会的努力作出巨大贡献,那么,全世界将从中受益。

  因此,今年国际老年人日的主题是“提高老年人生活质量:促进联合国全球战略”。这个主题要求所有社区努力制定政策和方案,使老年人的生活环境能够增强其能力,加强其独立生活能力,在他们颐养天年之际,向他们提供充足的支助和照顾。

  这意味着保证创造住房、交通和其他生活条件,使人民能够尽可能长久保持独立生活能力,在自己社区内“就地养老”——但仍然老有所事。同样重要的是,这意味着所有社会都必须承认并尊重老年人的尊严、权威、智慧和生产能力,尤其是他们作为志愿人员和多代人照顾者的作用。而且,这也意味着建立比较正面的老龄化形象。

  值此国际老年人日之际,我呼吁各国政府、私营部门、民间社会组织和各地人民集中精力,根据《马德里老龄问题国际行动计划》的设想,并根据千年发展目标和更广泛的全球发展议程,建设一个不分年龄人人共享的社会。我们可以而且必须共同努力,确保人民不仅更加长寿,而且生活得更美好、更丰富、更有意义和更加充实。

 

联合国新闻部联合国网站事务科制作 - 联合国© 2006

International Year of Older Persons 2006
     

MESSAGE OF THE SECRETARY-GENERAL
ON THE INTERNATIONAL DAY OF OLDER PERSONS, 1 OCTOBER 2006

In the tenth and final year of my tenure as Secretary-General, after a full career in the service of the United Nations, I have a personal stake in the fate of older persons and the fulfillment of their aspirations. But I am only one of 600 million persons in the world over the age of 60. As people across the globe come to live increasingly longer lives, our entire human family has a stake in encouraging and easing a productive, active, and healthy aging process. The whole world stands to gain from an empowered older generation, with the potential to make tremendous contributions to the development process and to the work of building more productive, peaceful, and sustainable societies .

That is why the theme of this year's International Day of Older Persons is "Improving the Quality of Life for Older Persons: Advancing UN Global Strategies". It is a call to all communities to work for policies and programmes that will enable older persons to live in an environment that enhances their capabilities, fosters their independence, and provides them with adequate support and care as they age.

That means ensuring housing, transportation, and other living conditions that allow people to maintain their independence for as long as possible, and "age in place"-- yet remain active -- within their own communities. Equally important, it means recognizing and respecting the dignity, authority, wisdom, and productivity of older persons in all societies, particularly in their roles as volunteers and multi-generational caregivers. And that, in turn, means promoting a more positive image of ageing.

On this International Day of Older Persons, I call on Governments, the private sector, civil society organizations, and people everywhere to focus on building a society for all ages -- as envisioned in the Madrid International Plan of Action on Ageing, and in line with the Millennium Development Goals and wider global development agenda. Together, we can and must ensure that people live not only longer lives, but better, more enriching, rewarding, and fulfilling lives.

 

 

Website development: UN Web Services Section | Department of Public Information, United Nations © 2006