‘Water for Life’ UN-Water Best Practices Award

2011 edition: Evaluation committee

All submissions complying with the reporting format were forwarded to an independent international Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) for review. The TAC and Jury are formed by international experts of proven distinction in the water and communication sector from international organizations, initiatives, universities and Think Tanks, among others. The president of the Jury is designated by the organizers of the award.

This advisory committee evaluated the submitted best practices based on a set of selection criteria and forwarded its evaluation to an international Jury. This international Jury reviewed all applications and voted for selecting winners of the 2011 edition. The final decision was taken unanimously.

Members of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

Er. M. GopalakrishnanEr. M. Gopalakrishnan
Secretary General Honoraire, International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID)
A Distinguished Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Er. Gopalakrishnan is a Gold Medalist of University of Roorkee with a Master’s Degree in Water Resources Development. Engr. Gopalakrishnan has over 47 years of experience and had handled many aspects of Water Resources planning, development and management. He is well-known to the global community on water with his links with World Water Council (2004-06) (Governor), UN-Water, ICOLD, IWRA, IWRS, Institution of Engineers (India) etc. Er. Gopalakrishnan is a member of the Technical Advisory Committee helping World Water Development Reports. He is a recipient of the ‘Life Time Achievement award’ from the American Academy of Water Resources Engineers with the conferment of the ‘Honarary Diplomate’ Status in the Academy in 2010. He was also honoured by Indian National Academy of Engineering as a Fellow of National Academy of Engineering in 2011.  Mr. Mukuteswara Gopalakrishnan was Secretary General, International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage between 2003 and 2011 and has been endeavouring to enhance its partnering roles with other global organizations like IWMI, ICOLD, FAO, WWAP and the Global Water Partnership. He facilitated ICID’s contributions in the previous World Water Fora meetings.

Estrellita FuentesEstrellita Fuentes
International affairs, Comisión Nacional del Agua de Mexico (CONAGUA)
Estrellita Fuentes has a BA in Communications, 12 years experience in the public sector, where she has held several posts. During the Michoacan state government administration, 1999 - 2002, she acted as General Coordinator of Citizens' Services and was founder and Director of the State Institute for Youth. She has also been an editor and columnist for print media and television, addressing environmental, political and social issues. She is currently in charge of international affairs in CONAGUA, where she has worked since 2003, and is also the Coordinator of the D4WCC.

Guillermo V. DonosoGuillermo V. Donoso
Director, National Agricultural Research Institute of Chile
Environmental and Natural Resource Economist specializing in Water Economics, Water Allocation Mechanisms, Economic Valuation, Economic Appraisal of Development Projects and Micro-econometrics. At present Director of the National Agricultural Research Institute of Chile and a full professor at the Agricultural Economics Department of the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile. He has held the position of Dean of the Facultad de Agronomía e Ingeniería Forestal of the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile from 1998 to 2007. Previously was Chair of the Agricultural Economics Department between 1995 and 1998. Has over 16 years of experience, as grants and contract manager in various social and economic sectors as consultant for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB), the GTZ and the World Bank in projects for Latin America on water economics, allocation and management, economic valuation, economic appraisal of investment projects, and economic impact assessment of public programs.

Jayakumar RamasamyJayakumar Ramasamy
Programme Specialist for Natural Sciences for the East Asian cluster, UNESCO Office in Beijing
Dr. Jayakumar holds a Masters degree in Geology, Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management, and earned a Doctoral degree in Hydrogeology (1993) from India. His postdoctoral research areas include conjunctive use of surface and groundwater for irrigation (under the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research of India) and remote sensing and GIS application in natural resources management (from Osaka City University, Japan). As a Consultant hydrogeologist he has served with the Ford Foundation and with WS Atkins International Limited, (UK). He was Adjunct Professor of Geology at Anna University, Chennai, India. In July 1997, he joined UNESCO at its New Delhi Office, where he was in the charge of the Geology programme. Subsequently, he took over the International Hydrological Programme (IHP), Geology and Coastal Regions and Small Islands (CSI) programmes and officiating as Regional Hydrologist. In Since August 2004 he has been serving with UNESCO Office Beijing as Programme Specialist for Science, Technology, and Environment for East Asian cluster. In this capacity, he is responsible for the implementation of the intergovernmental programmes such as IHP, Man and the Biosphere (MAB), International Geoscience Programme (IGCP) and Basic and Engineering Sciences, Science Policy and Analysis,. He is also serving as Guest Professor at the Institute of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geology, Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences and Department of Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering, Inner Mongolia Agricultural University, China.

Sergey LazarevSergey Lazarev
Director of the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty and Representative to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan
Born in 1954, Mr. Sergey Lazarev holds a Ph.D. in International Relations from the Institute of World Economy and International Relations of the USSR Academy of Sciences. He also has the title of Senior Research Fellow. Mr. Lazarev began his professional career as a Research Fellow at the Institute of World Economy and International Relations in Moscow. He then moved to the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences as Scientific Secretary responsible for the conception, monitoring and management of social and human sciences. Mr. Lazarev's work in UNESCO started in January 1988. In October 1994, he became Chief, Section for Tolerance. In this capacity coordinated the preparation and implementation of the celebration programme for the United Nations Year for Tolerance, including the drafting of the milestone Declaration of Principles on Tolerance adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO in 1995. From December 2000 to March 2002, Mr. Lazarev was entrusted with the responsibilities of Chief, Executive Office of the Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences. Since April 2002, Mr. Lazarev has been the Chief of the Struggle against Discrimination and Racism Section. In this context, he led the preparation of UNESCO's Integrated Strategy to Combat Racism, Discrimination, Xenophobia and related intolerance adopted by the 32nd session of the General Conference in 2003 and of the UNESCO contribution to the Durban Review Conference held in Geneva in April 2009. Among his responsibilities in this position is the global coordination of the Coalition of Cities against Racism and Discrimination project. From November 2009 Mr. Lazarev is the Director of the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty and Representative to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan.