COMMITTEE ON THE EXERCISE OF THE INALIENABLE RIGHTS OF THE PALESTINIAN PEOPLE

OBSERVANCE OF THE INTERNATIONAL DAY OF SOLIDARITY WITH THE PALESTINIAN PEOPLE

Monday, 29 November 2021, 10.00 a.m. General Assembly Hall

PROGRAMME

10.00 -10.10 a.m. H.E. Mr. Cheikh Niang, Chairperson

Chair of the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People (Permanent Representative of Senegal to the United Nations)

10.10 – 10.20 a.m. **H.E. Mr. Abdulla Shahid**

President of the General Assembly

10.20 – 10.30 a.m. H.E. Mr. Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez

President of the Security Council (Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations)

10.30 – 10.40 a.m. **Ms. Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti**

Chef de Cabinet, Speaking on behalf of the Secretary-General of the United Nations 10.40 – 10.50 a.m. **H.E. Mr. Riyad Mansour**

Permanent Observer of the State of Palestine, reading out a message from H.E. Mr. Mahmoud Abbas, President of the State of Palestine.

10.50. – 11.00 a.m. Video messages of solidarity by H.E. Ms. Tarja Halonen, Former

President of Finland and Former co-chair of the International Women's Commission for a Just and Sustainable Palestinian-Israeli Peace, Ms. Malala Yousafzai, Nobel Peace Laureate, Ms. Hanan Hroub, Palestinian winner of "Global Teacher Prize", Ms. Agnès Callamard, Amnesty International Secretary-General

11.00 - 11.10 a.m. **Mr. Mohammed El-Kurd,** Palestinian activist

Representative of civil society

11.20 – 11.30 a.m. **Introduction of Intergovernmental Organizations' Speakers** – Chairperson

11.30 – 11.40 a.m. H.E. Mr. Peter Mohan Maithri Pieris

Chair of the Special Committee to Investigate Israeli Practices Affecting the Human Rights of the Palestinian People and Other Arabs of the Occupied Territories (Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the United Nations)

11.40 – 11.50 a.m. H.E. Ms. Fatima Kyari Mohammed

Permanent Observer of the African Union, reading out a message from H.E. Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chair of the African Union Commission 11.50 a.m. – 12.00 p.m. **H.E. Mr. Maged A. Abdelaziz**

Permanent Observer of the League of Arab States to the United Nations, reading out a message from H.E. Mr. Ahmed Aboul Gheit, Secretary-General of the League of Arab States

12.00- 12.10 p.m. **H.E. Mr. Agshin Mehdiyev**

Permanent Observer of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, reading out a message from H.E. Dr. Yousef bin Ahmad Al-Othaimeen, Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation

12.10 – 12.20 p.m. **H.E. Mr. Yashar T. Aliyev**

Permanent Representative of the Republic of Azerbaijan to the United Nations, reading out a message on behalf of the Movement of Non-Aligned Countries

Closing

12.30–12.40 p.m. H.E. Mr. Cheikh Niang, Chairperson
