

Summary of the Commemoration of the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People, Wednesday, 29 November 2017 Vienna International Centre

The Special Meeting commenced at 16:00 in Conference room C, in the C Building.

Mr. Teymuraz Gogoalshvili, Secretary of the meeting, introduced the Chairman, His Excellency Mr. Keith Azzopardi, Permanent Representative of Malta to the United Nations (Vienna), nominated by the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People as its Representative.

Following the opening remarks and statement by the Chairman on behalf of the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People which, Mr. Dennis Thatchaichawalit, Deputy Director-General of the United Nations Office at Vienna delivered the Secretary-General's statement.

Mr. Thomas Nader, Head of the Department of the Middle East in the Federal Ministry of Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Austria, then read the address on behalf of the Host Country.

In continuation, His Excellency Mr. Wael Nasser Eddin AL-ASSAD, Permanent Observer of the League of Arab States to the United Nations (Vienna) delivered his statement on behalf of the Secretary-General of the League of Arab States His Excellency Ahmed Aboul Gheit.

On behalf of the Non-Aligned-Movement a statement was delivered by Mrs. Maria Dolores Pena, Second Secretary of the Permanent Mission of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the United Nations (Vienna)

This was followed by the national statements of the Permanent Representatives of: Turkey - H.E. Mrs. Birnur Fertekligil; the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan - H.E. Mr. Hussam Al Husseini; the State of Qatar - H.E. Sheikh Ali Jassim Al-Thani; the Arab Republic of Egypt - H.E. Mr. Omar Amer Youssef; the Republic of Yemen - H.E. Mr. Haytham Abdulmomen Shoja'aadin; the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria - H.E. Mrs. Faouzia Mebarki; South Africa - H.E. Mr. Tebogo Seokolo.

In continuation of the representatives of the following Permanent Missions to the United Nations (Vienna) delivered their national statements: the Kingdom of Morocco, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Iraq, the People's Republic of China, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the State of Kuwait and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

After the national statements Dr. Hans Köchler, President of the International Progress Organizations, then spoke, representing the Non-Governmental Organizations. Another representative of NGOs Mr. Mohammed Abdelnaem, the Chief of Board of the United National Organization for Human Rights delivered his statement.

His Excellency Mr. Salahaldin Abdalshafi, Permanent Observer of Palestine read the statement of His Excellency Mr. Mahmoud Abbas, President of the State of Palestine.

Concluding remarks were addressed by the Chairman.

Representatives from more than 35 Member States and Permanent Observer entities, as well as officials from the Host Country, Executive Secretary of CTBTO, and representatives from UNIDO, IAEA, LAS, UNROD, OPEC, OFID, UNODC, IACA, Gulf Cooperation Council, NGOs, other invited guests and staff members attended the meeting, overall approximately 90 participants.