青年

青年2018-08-23T22:23:50+00:00

青年和可持续发展目标

  如今,10岁至24岁之间的人口有18亿,这是有史以来人数最多的青年一代。其中,近90%的青年生活在发展中国家,他们占国家人口的很大一部分,且青年人数预计还会增长,2015年至2030年之间,预计约有19亿人将年满15岁。年轻人以前所未有的方式互联,希望并且已经通过提出创新解决方案、推动社会进步并激发政治变革为社区的复原力做出贡献。他们也是变革的推动者,致力于推进可持续发展目标,以改善人民生活和地球健康。

  青年拥有发挥全部潜力所需的必要技能和机会,可以成为支持发展和促进和平与安全的动力。应鼓励和授权由青年领导的组织积极参与,将2030年议程转化为地方、国家和区域政策。对于议程的实施、监督和审查以及使政府承担责任方面,青年有着重要的作用。凭借他们的政治承诺和充足的资源,青年有可能将世界最有效地转变为一个更美好的地方,让所有人都受益。

联合国和青年

  因其全球召集职能,联合国具备为青年提供保护、支持和平台的独有优势,青年可以通过联合国平台解决他们的需求,放大他们的声音和提高他们的参与度。

  联合国完全接受年轻人所有形式的多样性,因而采用并倡导反映这种多样性的方法,以确保所有年轻人能够充分参与、得到赋权和发展。联合国承认青年是权利持有者,并促进政府、国际组织和其他人对于青年的透明度、责任和响应。

秘书长的青年问题特使

  2017年6月,贾亚特玛•维克拉玛纳亚克 女士被任命为联合国秘书长的青年问题特使 。作为全球青年倡导者,她致力于确保青年参与对他们至关重要的议题,让他们在联合国和世界各地发表意见。她还捍卫可持续发展目标,使联合国的工作与世界各地的青年更紧密联系。

可持续发展目标的青年领导者

  2016年9月宣布了首批17名青年领袖。这些青年领袖来自不同背景、行业和地区,选拔依据是他们为消除贫困、应对气候变化和减少不平等所做出的努力。

  他们与青年问题特使合作,吸引年轻人参与落实可持续发展目标,宣扬他们的成就,并为联合国动员年轻人的宣传工作出谋献策。2018年9月联合国大会期间将再宣布一批青年领袖。

青年的角色和可持续发展目标

  1. 批判性思考者:在一定程度上,年轻意味着要重视个人经历并积极思考周围世界的问题。青年有能力识别和挑战现有的权力结构和变革障碍,并揭露矛盾和偏见。
  2. 变革塑造者:年轻人也有能力采取行动和动员他人。得益于更广泛的连通性和社交媒体互联,全世界的青年正逐渐成为活动家。
  3. 创新者:除了带来新的视角外,年轻人对于问题通常拥有成人所缺少的直接知识和见解。青年人最了解他们面临的问题,并可以提供新的思想和替代解决方案。
  4. 传播者:在国际发展部门之外,很少有人意识到世界各国领导人已达成历史性的、意义深远的一致愿景,即到2030年实现人民生活和地球改善。年轻人可以作为合作伙伴,将这个发展愿景传达给地方、国家和区域的青年人和社区。
  5. 领导者:当年轻人了解他们的权利并具备领导技能时,他们可以推动社区和国家的变革。特别是由青年领导的组织和网络应得到支持和加强,从而促使青年人、特别是边缘化青年培养公民领导技能。

青年宣传活动

青年人可用的资源

Youth

Youth2018-09-19T21:42:37+00:00

Youth and the SDGs

Today, there are 1.8 billion people between the ages of 10-24—they are the largest generation of youth in history. Close to 90 per cent of them live in developing countries, where they make up a large proportion of the population. Their numbers are expected to grow—between 2015 and 2030 alone, about 1.9 billion young people are projected to turn 15 years old.  Connected to each other like never before, young people want to and already contribute to the resilience of their communities, proposing innovative solutions, driving social progress and inspiring political change . They are also agents of change, mobilizing to advance the Sustainable Development Goals to improve the lives of people and the health of the planet.

Provided with the necessary skills and opportunities needed to reach their potential, young people can be a driving force for supporting development and contributing to peace and security. Youth-led organizations need to be encouraged and empowered to participate in translating the 2030 Agenda into local, national and regional policy. They play a significant role in the implementation, monitoring and review of the Agenda as well as in holding governments accountable. With political commitment and adequate resources, young people have the potential to make the most effective transformation of the world into a better place for all.

The UN and Youth

Building on its global convening role, the United Nations is uniquely placed to act as a source of protection and support for young people, and a platform through which their needs can be addressed, their voice can be amplified, and their engagement can be advanced.

The UN fully embraces young people’s diversity in all its forms. Therefore, the UN employs and advocates for methods and approaches reflective of this diversity to make sure all young people can reach their full engagement, empowerment and development. The UN recognizes young people as rights-holders, and promotes and facilitates transparency, accountability, and responsiveness from governments, international organizations and others  toward young people.

The Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth

Ms. Jayathma Wickramanayake was appointed United Nations Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth in June 2017. As a global advocate for youth, she works to ensure the participation of young people in issues that matter to them, giving them a voice at the UN and around the world. Championing the SDGs, she also brings the work of the UN closer to young people around the world.

The Young Leaders for the SDGs

In September 2016, the inaugural class of 17 Young Leaders was announced. Coming from different backgrounds, sectors and regions, Young Leaders are selected based on their efforts to end poverty, combat climate change and reduce inequalities.

They work with the Envoy on Youth to engage young people in the SDG, advocate for their achievement and contribute to a brain trust supporting the UN’s advocacy efforts to mobilize young people.  A new class of Young Leaders will be announced in September 2018, during the UN General Assembly.

Roles for youth and the SDGs

  1. Critical thinkers: Part of being young involves making sense of personal experiences and asking questions about the world around you. Youth have the capacity to identify and challenge existing power structures and barriers to change, and to expose contradictions and biases
  2. Change-makers: Young people also have the power to act and mobilise others. Youth activism is on the rise the world over, bolstered by broader connectivity and access to social media.
  3. Innovators: In addition to bringing fresh perspectives, young people often have direct knowledge of and insights into issues that are not accessible to adults. Youth best understand the problems they face and can offer new ideas and alternative solutions.
  4. Communicators: Outside the international development sector, few people are aware that world leaders have come to a historic, far-reaching agreement to improve the lives of people and the planetby 2030. Young people can be partners in communicating the development agenda to their peers and communities at the local level, as well as across countries and regions.
  5. Leaders: When young people are empowered with the knowledge of their rights and equipped with leadership skills, they can drive change in their communities and countries. Youth-led organisations and networks, in particular, should be supported and strengthened, because they contribute to the development of civic leadership skills among young people, especially marginalised youth.​

Youth campaigns

Resources for Young People 

Related News

Load More Posts