

Virtual Launch of the High-level Dialogue on Energy 2021 Process: A Year of Energy Action

10 March 2021, from 9:00 a.m. New York time

Watch on-line webstream at <u>UNTV</u> or <u>High-level Dialogue on Energy website</u>,
or follow on <u>Twitter @UN_Energy</u>

No registration required

Programme of Speakers

(remarks by video)

Opening Remarks

António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations

Leadership of the High-level Dialogue on Energy

LIU Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs and Secretary-General of the High-level Dialogue

Achim Steiner, Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), UN-Energy Co-Chair and Dialogue Co-Chair

Damilola Ogunbiyi, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All, UN-Energy Co-Chair, Dialogue Co-Chair and Dialogue High-Level Champion

Global Champions for the High-level Dialogue on Energy

Theme 1: Energy Access

Charles Keter, Cabinet Secretary for Energy of Kenya

Newton Kambala, Minister of Energy of the Republic of Malawi

His Royal Highness Prince Abdulaziz bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Minister of Energy of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia*

ZHANG Jianhua, Administrator of the National Energy Administration of the People's Republic of China

Eiichiro Washio, State Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan

Kitty van der Heijden, Vice Minister for International Cooperation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Anatoly B. Yanovsky, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation

Theme 2: Energy Transition

Teresa Ribera, Vice-President and Minister for the Ecological Transition and the Demographic Challenge of the Kingdom of Spain

Bento Albuquerque, Minister of Mines and Energy of the Federal Republic of Brazil

Juan Carlos Jobet, Minister of Energy of Chile*

Diego Mesa Puyo, Minister of Mines and Energy of the Republic of Colombia

Dan Jorgensen, Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities of Denmark*

Gerd Müller, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development of the Federal Republic Germany

Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar, Minister of Environment of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Raj Kumar Singh, Minister of State (Power, New & Renewable Energy) of the Republic of India

Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Theme 3: Enabling SDGs through Inclusive, Just Energy Transitions

Gudlaugur Thór Thórdarson, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development Cooperation of Iceland

Rennier Gadabu, Minister for Climate Change of the Republic of Nauru

João Pedro Matos Fernandes, Minister for the Environment and Climate Action of Portugal*

Abdullah Bin Mohammed Belhaif Al Nuaimi, Minister of Climate Change and Environment of the United Arab Emirates

Jorge Rivera Staff, National Secretary of Energy of the Republic of Panama

Theme 4: Innovation, Technology and Data

Georges Pierre Lesjongard, Minister of Energy and Public Utilities of the Republic of Mauritius

Anatoly B. Yanovsky. Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation⁽⁺⁾

Mustapha Bakkoury, Director General of Masen (Agency for Sustainable Energy) of the Kingdom of Morocco

Theme 5: Finance and Investment

Antonio Almonte, Minister of Energy and Mines of the Dominican Republic

Umar Ayub Khan, Minister of Energy of Pakistan

His Royal Highness Prince Abdulaziz bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Minister of Energy of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia⁽⁺⁾, *

Kitty van der Heijden, Vice Minister for International Cooperation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands⁽⁺⁾

Co-Leads of the Technical Working Groups for the High-level Dialogue on Energy

Working Group 1: Energy Access

Achim Steiner, Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Fekitamoeloa Katoa 'Utoikamanu, Under Secretary-General and High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN OHRLLS)

Demetrios Papathanasiou, Global Director, Energy and Extractives Global Practice, World Bank

Working Group 2: Energy Transition

Francesco La Camera, Director General of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Inger Andersen, Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programmed (UNEP)

Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN ESCAP)

Working Group 3: Enabling SDGs through Inclusive, Just Energy Transitions

LIU Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA)

Rola Dashti, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UN ESCWA)

Tedros Adhanom, Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO)

Working Group 4: Innovation, Technology and Data

Qu Dongyu, Director General of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)

Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programmed (UN-Habitat)

Li Yong, Director General of the UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Working Group 5: Finance and Investment

Werner Hoyer, President of the European Investment Bank (EIB)

Fatih Birol, Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA)

Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UN ECA)

Closing Remarks

Damilola Ogunbiyi, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All, UN-Energy Co-Chair, Dialogue Co-Chair and Dialogue High-Level Champion

Achim Steiner, Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme, UN-Energy Co-Chair and Dialogue Co-Chair

LIU Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs and Secretary-General of the High-level Dialogue

*Remarks to be available on High-level Dialogue on Energy website on 10 March or later (+) Supporting role

All video remarks can also be viewed individually on the HL Dialogue on Energy website from 10 March.

The hashtags for social media will be #HLDE2021 and #SustainableEnergy, Twitter @UN_Energy.

The virtual launch is organized by the Secretariat of the High-level Dialogue on Energy, UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs | contact: energy2021@un.org